Midwestern Stromboli

When I was growing up, I was a very picky eater.

I hated sauces and condiments. I still can’t stand it if people lick a condiment off of their fingers. This just happens to be something my daughter does often. Gag!

Now a days I’ll eat tomatoes, but only if the seeds are gone. Usually they aren’t, unless I prepare them, so as a rule, I avoid them.

I remember one of the first times my Auntie Della visited from Iowa, she made dinner for us one night. I was convinced I wouldn’t like it, so she made two different types of the recipe. A cheese only one for me, and a meat and cheese one for everyone else. (If only I was as accommodating for my little ones. Poor kids!)

After that, my Nana made it for the family occasionally and I grew to love it. Meat and all.

Midwestern Stromboli edit

But as a Mom, what really sells me on this recipe is the versatility. You can throw in pretty much whatever you have on hand.

I made it for my family for the first time the other day. I hadn’t planned my meals very well for the week, but I happened to have everything I needed to make this.

I used:

Garlic and Herb pizza dough (You can use whatever flavor your like. If you’re cooler than me, you can even make it from scratch!)
1 pound ground beef
Taco seasoning
Cheddar cheese
Feta cheese
SpinachIMG_3155.JPG
IMG_3157.JPG1. Cook the ground beef and add your favorite seasoning.IMG_3159.JPG2. While the meat is cooking, roll out the dough in a rectangle.IMG_3158.JPG3. Add spinach in the center of the dough. (I piled on as much as I could!)IMG_3161.JPG4. Add your cheeses. I always have Tillamook cheddar cheese on hand, and lately I’ve been going through a feta phase, so I used a bit of both.IMG_3162.JPG5. Once the meat is done, put it on top of the cheese.IMG_3163.JPG6. Pull the sides of the dough up and pinch together to seal.IMG_3164.JPG7. Cook according the the dough directions. 400 degrees for about 10 minutes.IMG_3166.JPG8. Slice and serve.

IMG_3169

This meal was great because it was fast, easy, and delicious. It also happened to have a bunch of spinach in there that was pretty well hidden.

Next time I’ll experiment with other meats and maybe I’ll be adventurous and try some different cheeses.

What’s a favorite meal from your childhood? Do you make it for your family?

Thank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

16 thoughts on “Midwestern Stromboli

  1. melissajane01 says:

    That looks so good! I wonder if they have that pizza dough at the TJs near me. I bet my kids would love this. That’s funny, I’m not a fan of condiments either. When I eat a hot dog, I have it plain and I usually only have avocado or guacamole on my sandwiches. Great recipe!

    • mamabyfire says:

      They should have it! At my TJ’s they have the garlic/herbs and whole wheat. I used to eat my hot dogs plain, but as I got older, I started to venture out. I put cream cheese and grilled onions on it, haha!

  2. Naomi says:

    Awesome! I think I’ll try a variation with our family.

    My favorite growing up was tacos, probably because I got to help make it. I got to grate the cheese and shred the lettuce. Besides the meat, that’s about what we put on our tacos. My kiddo doesn’t like all that stuff mixed up, so she gets it all seperate on her plate including a little tortilla scrap. Lately, she stopped liking cumin and chilli powder, which is pretty much what taco seasoning is.

    • mamabyfire says:

      I hope you family likes it!

      I have fond memories of grating the cheese by hand for tacos and spaghetti. Now my daughter just pushes the button on the food processor. Lol!

  3. Susan - ofeverymoment says:

    This looks like a great thing to make for hungry teenagers – a good alternative to pizza when they all gather! Thanks. Happy SITS Day. (And you wouldn’t want to see the amount of ketchup and ranch dressing we go through!)

Leave a Reply

