The Potty is for Suckers!

*This post was originally published 2/4/14.
Ever have one of those moments where you think, “How did I get here?”

As I was rocking my 7 month old to sleep for his nap, I kept thinking that.  Not because he was squirming and kinda screaming, but because of the pee I was still covered in from when my 2 1/2 year old daughter peed on me minutes earlier. Apparently I was not thinking clearly enough to put the upset baby down, go downstairs and change my clothes.

So, yeah, we’re working on potty training.  Not my favorite parenting endeavor so far…probably because we haven’t had any success yet.  Miss Z will sit on the potty (and she has since before she turned 2), but she has not once done a 1 or 2. We offer chocolate, which she loves, but apparently not enough to pee in the pot. Yes, she’s 2 1/2-pushing 3…and not even interested.

Today I decided to have her without a diaper for the whole morning.  I showed her some big girl panties and made it really exciting.  She loved putting them on.  I showed her how to pull up and down to pee and talked about how they will leak if she needs to go.  Big mistake.  Panties on equal a false sense of security.

I was trying to get the little boy to sleep, turns out he was wet and hungry, so I took care of both and Miss Z comes crying to me peeing along the way and sits on my lap to finish her business.  I know I’m not the first mom this has happened to, this actually isn’t the first time it’s happened to me-I just usually get a shower and new clothes immediately after.

I reassured her accidents happen and they’re no big deal.  Gave her lots of hugs and kisses.  Then got her cleaned up and set up on the couch with her current favorite YouTube video (Katy Perry-Making of the “Roar” Music video-I know, Mother of the Year!) Then took my little guy to his room to rock him and myself in my pee covered glory.

Once he was finally asleep, I got to run downstairs, change my pants and wipe my legs down with a baby wipe.

Showers are for suckers.

the potty is for suckers

Leave a Reply

