Because Store Wipes Taste Gross!

I use baby wipes all the time.  I’m a mom, they’re used for everything.

I have also had an eczema outbreak on my right hand since the day my daughter was born.  I went to the doctor for it and he prescribed a steroid cream.  It worked at first, but then it stopped working.  I was using it way past the suggested use time with no results (other than my skin peeling and getting really thin.)

Each time I used a wipe on my daughter’s face, she would break out in a small rash.  And since she turned two, she has had the same rash on her butt.

One day, I decided to try an experiment.  I used my left hand only for diaper changes.  It broke out that same day with eczema.  Since that day, I have been making our wipes from scratch.  A minor inconvenience, I grant you, but once you’ve got it down, they are much better for your and baby’s skin.  And if you swallow one of them (or your nine month old does), you don’t have to worry about the unknown things on the ingredient list.

You need:

A tupperware that will fit a half roll of paper towels

Paper Towels (I use select a size Kirkland brand.  Whatever you choose to use, be sure it’s a STURDY paper towel.)

A serrated knife

2 cups of hot water

2 heaping Tablespoons of Coconut Oil (I get mine at Trader Joe’s)

2 Tablespoons of Baby Shampoo (Use whatever brand you like.)

1. Cut a roll of paper towels in half with the serrated knife. (this first step is the biggest pain in the butt, after this is done, making the wipes is cake.)

2.   Take out the center of the roll (the cardboard part)

3.  Put the half roll in your tupperware container.

4.  Measure out 2 cups of hot water (your hottest tap water is fine) and add the coconut oil. Stir until the oil is completely dissolved.

5. Add the baby shampoo. Stir.

6. Pour into the center of the paper towels.  Cover and let the paper towels soak in the mix for an hour or two.

20140614-183859-67139321.jpg
When they’re ready to use, pull from the center.  Be sure you cover them though, because the coconut oil will solidify again if it gets cold enough-but you can always add more hot water.  Depending on the brand of paper towels you use, you may need more or less of the ingredients.  Just play with it and find what works best for you.

It has been about two months since I started using these and the rash on my daughter’s tush is almost gone as well as the eczema on my hands.

If you think I’m crazy for going through the trouble to make these, taste one of your baby’s wipes, I dare you.  You may think twice the next time you use one to wipe their mouth.

***Update-When you’re making the wipes, pour half of the water mixture into the container BEFORE you put the paper towels in.  Then put the paper towels in and pour the rest of the mix on top.  It makes for a lot more of an even moisture distribution.

***Three months using these, and I am officially eczema free!!

Leave a comment