Valentine’s Day Fun with the Kiddos

I have had such a great time with my girl the last several months celebrating the Holidays.

This is the first Valentines Day that she has been aware of. She keeps telling me, “Mommy, Valentines Day is coming up!”

Since its this weekend, I wanted to have a few fun V-Day activities for us to do, spread throughout the week.

Valentine's Day Fun with the kiddos

I kind of dropped the ball on this one. Instead of trying to throw something together, I thought I would do a few fun activities thought up by some great (and more put-together) mommys.

These are the activities I plan to do with my kids to celebrate the “Love” throughout the week.

1. Chocolate Dipped Red Velvet Oreos

Sounds amazing, right? Lauren from Working Mom Magic shares her fun version of this particular concoction. And check out the surprise ingredient, it has me intrigued.

Red Velvet is my absolute favorite cake so I can’t wait to get my hands of some of these Limited Edition Oreo’s. And then my girl and I can dunk them in some white chocolate!

I she will be in heaven!

2. Heart Shaped Crafts for Valentine’s Day
From Melissa at Our Creative Wonderland, the adorable crafty hearts will be a hit with the Little Miss. I just love watching my girl get excited about creating fun gifts (because these will be going to the grandparents, of course!)

3. Heart Cookie Cutter Food

This is hardly an original thought of mine which is why it’s on this list.

Since it’s plastered all over Pinterest and Instagram, I’ll just credit it to all the mamas out there that like to get “fancy” with their kids’ food.

This, to me, is the simplest flourish for everyday mealtime that always gets a huge smile from my girl.

The possibilities are endless. Perhaps this week I’ll introduce the kiddos to the Oh So Amazing rice Krispy treats and we’ll cut them in a heart shape. It’s sure to impress!

Now I just need to get a heart shaped cookie cutter and I’ll be golden.

4. Yarn Hearts

Ok, so maybe this one is from a magazine, but I found it on Pinterest. It looks so cute and it will be a lot of fun to hang a couple of them in the window.

Are you planning on doing any fun activities with your little ones this week?

22 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Fun with the Kiddos

  1. triciathegoodmama says:

    Great ideas! My son is about 18th months, so he doesn’t really care about Valentine’s Day. He’ll be celebrating with my inlaws though since my husband and I are taking a get-away! I’m very excited.

  2. Allison Rouble says:

    This is the first year we are making a big deal of it around here, having another family come over with kids as well. I am going to get a few different sizes of Heart Shaped cookie cutters and have the kids make some fun food.

  3. Naomi says:

    I’m trying the color and cut out heart cards for the grandparents, too. So far, we only have one put together, and she’s not interested in finishing the other 3.

  4. N says:

    I just saw some friends make Borax crystals shaped like hearts, so I want to try that this week. We did color hearts and string them in a banner over the window last week.

Leave a Reply

