A Few Sweet Moments…

Yesterday was an ordinary day.

Started off with yogurt and granola for breakfast.

Some play time.

Then we watched a movie from my daughter’s three-movies rotation (Tangled, Frozen, and The Little Mermaid.)

This time, it was Frozen.

We had enough time before lunch to bundle up for the chilly Seattle weather and play outside in the kids’ new sandbox.

The girl played in the box.

Digging in Sandbox Seahawks beanie

The boy ran all over the place making me chase him up and down the hill in our yard.

Beauty in the Mundane R running

At lunch, we had our usual PB&J. I took the peas out of the pod of every sugar snap pea we had, (because that’s the good part, apparently).

Lucky me, both kids went down easily for naps at the same time and I got to sit and take a breath.

I felt unsettled.

I don’t know why. Stressed or tired?

It was my first day back “on the job” after a bout of the flu.

The flu for one day, with three to recover. I’m still wiped. How do kids bounce back so quickly?

I had the opportunity to experience a different type of “mommy exhaustion.”ย I nursed the baby while he and I were both sick in hopes that he would be able to keep something down. I partially blame my three day recovery on that. It zapped my energy more than anything I’ve experienced.

Anyhow, here I was feeling kind of down. Is it the time of year?

It’s times like these, when we feel down, that our failures tend to creep up on us bombarding our heads with negative self-talk. Refusing to get sucked in, I decided to do something to keep busy.

I did what us exciting stay at home moms do while the kids are napping, and I folded some clothes (while watching Friends.)

Once the kiddos woke up, they were crazy. All over the place. All over me when I was trying to cook dinner-a huge pet peeve! I was starting to feel overwhelmed and really cranky.

But then I caught them in so many sweet moments, I couldn’t help but be reminded that this is what I’m here for.

Beauty in the Mundane Organized R

He organized his stuff all by himself.

Hide and Seek in Plain Sight

Playing hide and seek.

Hanging out with these two is what I “do.” I watch them explore and grow. I get to teach them and observe them while they learn from eachย other.

Beauty in the Mundane R reading

Learning together sibling love

Teaching her baby brother how to spell her name.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Did I have a moody moment? Sure.

But I had these two crazies to snap me out of it.

Now I’m excited that I get to doย it all over again today. It’s my job. I’m so fortunate that I get to do what I love.

What makes you happy if you’re feeling down?

20 thoughts on “A Few Sweet Moments…

  1. workingmommagic says:

    You know what I do to get happy, so I wont list them again! ha!! You are super lucky that you get to stay home with your sweet kids, I would love that! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Cecilia says:

    I wish you and your kids all the best. I totally enjoyed the photos and your post. You know what, the most precious moments are the moments we are aware of.

  3. triciathegoodmama says:

    I like to cuddle up with my little one (if he lets me) to get happy. I’m glad you are feeling better. The flu is NO fun!

  4. Life Breath Present says:

    Those random seemingly inexplicable times when I’m feeling something and can’t quite pin it down. Those are always interesting, but just like you said, I have an incredible career. Watching Baby Boy grow and change, learn and explore, practice and try new things; is amazing. A few smiles or some laughter from him, his attempts to do what I do, well that’s what my career is all about.

    Just last night, Hun reminds me that if I ever really want to go back into my previous career it’s OK. And I could honestly look him in the eye and say, no my heart is here with my family. My true hearts desire is to keep growing my family, keep caring for my family, teaching Baby Boy by example, creating small teachable moments in the midst of cleaning up the toys that are frustrating me and so I’d like to keep this career. There are other things I want to do simultaneously, but at the end of the day being a full time SAHM is just right. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mamabyfire says:

      I absolutely agree! “Creating small teachable moments in the midst of cleaning up the toys” is what it’s all about. Finding and sharing beauty in the mundane and watching the kiddos grow all the while is what makes it such an amazing career. Thank you for stopping by!!

  5. melissajane01 says:

    It’s the worst to have the flu while your little ones are also sick. Hope you start having more energy soon. I was cranky the other night too and then I felt bad about being in a bad mood. You’re right though, it’s those sweet moments that help me feel happy again.

  6. threeboysandamom says:

    These are the moments that make a mamas heart beat! There have been lots of precious moments here lately and it’s the thing that keeps me going. I’ve been exhausted this week, today being the peak, and even still, these sweet moments help me find energy to keep moving! Love the pictures! Thanks for sharing โ˜บ

  7. TwoPlusCute says:

    Thanks for making me feel less guilty when the grinding of being a SAHM gets to me. What helps me, is to get creative or fix something. To make something (NOT food). More making a handmade book or tightening a door screw.
    Aaaand…tidying/cleaning. I feel ridiculous writing that but, seeing even one room tidy and super clean like it was before the baby – you know: a perfect room – really uplifts me.
    If I am physically down and can’t do any of the above, then I put some music on and watch my little one dance. Bliss right there. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mamabyfire says:

      No problem! It is a grind! It has its “love/hate” moments too! Tidying up helps me also. I like it when I can create a happy place to go, even if it only lasts for part of the day. And watching the kiddos dance is so much fun-love it!!

Leave a Reply

