3 Ingredient Banana Bread

Banana bread to useOne of my daughter’s all time favorite snacks is a banana. She would eat several at a time if I let her.

Since she started eating them, we almost always have them on hand.

The thing about bananas is, they go bad rather quickly. They also happen to ripen other fruit as well, so if you have perfectly ripe fruit, keep them away from the bananas.

Lucky for us there are a ton of things to do with over ripe bananas.

I had some atrocious looking ones the other day and I had big plans of making some breakfast muffins (one of my and Z’s favorite breakfasts.) Unfortunately, I didn’t have most of the ingredients so I decided to get creative.

I had a box of cake mix that I never planned to use. I made cupcakes with pumpkin purée for Z’s birthday, so I wondered about using bananas instead.

Pumpkin purée and bananas are pretty much interchangeable, right?

I did a quick search on good old Pinterest and found a few ideas.

I put together this delicious concoction that puts the pumpkin cupcakes to shame.

You will need:
1 box of cake mix (I had chocolate. I’m sure it would work with other flavors.)
3 very ripe bananas
2 eggs
Chocolate chips (optional-also the fourth ingredient)/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4130.jpg1. Turn oven on to 350 degrees. Prepare your loaf pan, regular pan, or muffin cups. I buttered three mini loaf pans. (I got them for Christmas and I was so excited to get to use them!)/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4139.jpg2. Smash the bananas as well as you can. Any lumps will be seen in the bread-still tastes good, just isn’t as pretty./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4132-0.jpg3. Add the cake mix and the eggs. Mix well./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4140.jpg/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4181.jpg4. Add chocolate chips or even nuts if you like.

5. Put in your pan(s)./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4185.jpg6. Bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_41901.jpg/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4193.jpgThese were delicious! For the kids’ birthdays I am planning on making these in cupcake form. I’ll just throw on some adorable decorative frosting and they will be thrilled.

What do you like to do with your ripe bananas? I would love some more ideas!

Thank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

15 thoughts on “3 Ingredient Banana Bread

  1. melissajane01 says:

    OOo…that is such a great idea! I wish my husband liked banana bread. Every time I make it, I feel like he is left out. My kids love it though…especially the chocolate kind.

  2. Naomi says:

    Wow! I have a banana bread recipe for the bread maker. I use that, but the bread maker’s bread pan is too wide, and it never mixes right. I like your recipe much better! I’m sharing it with the mom-in-law, too. She loves simple recipes like this!

Leave a Reply

