Dyson Ball Vacuum Toy Review

vacuum toy picFor Christmas this year my husband and I were very particular about the toys we got our kids. We wanted to get things they would love that wouldn’t make too much of a mess, things that weren’t too loud, and an extra bonus would be if they were actually useful.

I like to think the kids enjoyed what we got.

But one of the big hits for this year was a toy they got a few days before Christmas.

I was given the opportunity to review
a “Little Helper” Dyson Ball Vacuum Cleaner.

My kids are at that fantastic age where they really want to help mama out. Even if that means being underfoot while I vacuum.

With the Little Helper, they actually get to help. The vacuum toy is a functioning vacuum. I even threw some dirt on the floor (a few times) to see how it would do. It successfully picked up dirt off of my carpeted floor. That’s not to say it will do a deep clean, I’m just pointing out it actually picks up dirt.

The toy requires four C batteries.

It has two different switches. One switch is red and it’s on top of the unit. It makes a quiet humming noise and the little beads in the center create a cyclone effect that the kids love to watch./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4215.jpgThe second switch is smaller and on the side of the unit. This switch turns on the cyclone effect and the actual suction. The sound is a bit louder than the other switch. It sounds like a real vacuum on a quieter level.

When checking the suction on the toy, it isn’t very strong. Since this is a toy for 3+, I consider that a good thing. We don’t want any hair or clothes getting sucked into the toy.

Even though it does say 3+, my 18 month old LOVES it. It’s just over two feet tall, which is a bit high for my little guy, but he manages./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4006.jpgHe especially likes the sound it makes. If he had his way, he would leave the cyclone action on all day./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4002.jpgMy daughter is the actual Little Helper. The size fits her height much better and she just loves helping me vacuum./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2015/01/img_4128.jpg She’s actually a bit intense about it, rushing around with it. Maybe one day I’ll be able to slow her down so her new toy can actually suck up some dirt.

If you would like more information on this toy, you can visit the company’s website here.

*Disclosure: I received this toy for free with the option to write a review. All opinions are my own.

16 thoughts on “Dyson Ball Vacuum Toy Review

  1. Alana says:

    Omg! It actually cleans!!! Too bad they didn’t give you the toy one and the real one to review. I would LOVE a dyson for myself (free of charge ;)). What a cool review!

  2. Naomi says:

    Wow, a make-believe vacuum that actually vacuums! I never bought a vacuum toy for my kiddo because she would be disappointed and frustrated when it didn’t actually clean anything. We’re making due with a tiny real vacuum that kids get for their dorm room. She can vacuum the kitchen, which we use as an entrance to the house.

    I may pick one of these toy ones up for her birthday! Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

