Resolutions

The time has come where we all declare our improvements for the New Year.

I wasn’t planning on sharing with the world, (or my tiny corner of the internet), what I feel needs to be worked on. Then after some thought, perhaps putting some of these things in writing may make me feel more accountable. Maybe. Only one way to find out.

So, in no particular order, here are my New Year’s Resolutions, categorized…

Kids:
*I want to cook more with Z and have more patience while doing so./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_4084.jpg *Get crafty with the boy. The lady and I play with all sorts of crafts but it’s always when the baby (ok, toddler) is sleeping. I think he’s ready…bring on the glitter./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_1363.jpg*Adventure time! I spend a lot of nice quality time with my kids (I’m with them 24/7, is that “quality” or quantity”?) My husband and I used to be big time geocachers before kids. I think it’s high time we introduce this nerdy really fun hobby of ours to the littles once and for all.

*Healthy eating. The kids eat fairly healthy, but there is always room for improvement. This leads me to my next category…

Me:
*To get to my goal weight, I need to lose 15 pounds. I need to move more and eat less.

The plan is to do something active daily and to eat healthier. If I only eat what I allow the kids to eat, I’d be golden.

Unfortunately, I have a weakness for chocolate. I need to stick to one piece per day, (or one tablespoon of chocolate chips per day-that’s one serving. Yes, I’ve done this before.)

I think my biggest obstacle will be evening. I need to stop eating snacks after 9pm. Back in April, I did this along with a few other small changes and I lost 10 pounds rather quickly. I want to do that again.

*I want to drink 3 liters of water per day. Not only is it good to stay hydrated, but this will also help with my weight loss goal.

The Husband:
*When he’s home, I want to give him my undivided attention. As opposed to my half him/half phone attention. He deserves it, he’s pretty rad./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_4091.jpg*I would love to cook more with him. We haven’t had the chance to lately, and I would like to make it more of a priority. Even if it’s only once a month./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_4092.jpgBlog:
*I’ve been actively blogging since June of this year (2014), and I have met so many amazing people. I want to continue my momentum and learn more about how to become a better blogger./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_4085.png*I will become self-hosted very soon. It’s a scary step for me mainly because I don’t want to lose anything, but I think it’s necessary.

*I would love to go to a blog conference! Who knows, if there’s one in town this year, maybe I’ll get to!

*I would like to have more guest posts. And I certainly wouldn’t mind doing more guest posts myself…There is no better way to get to know fellow bloggers than to do a guest post for each other.

There are plenty of other things I would like to improve on. Some involve keeping the house tidy at all times and staying caught up with the laundry. Or maybe I can accept that I’m not super woman and that it just isn’t possible. I would rather not set myself up for failure.

What are your goals for 2015? Do you have a never ending list too?

Thanks for stopping by! Have a Happy New Year!!

12 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. melissajane01 says:

    Great resolutions! You reminded me of some things I should do too. Such as, I need to give my husband more undivided attention also. I need to do a lot on my blog. I wanted to purchase a design but I’m afraid I’m going to crash my site. Guest posts are something I want to do also. Have a great New Year!

  2. Ai says:

    I hear ya about the chocolate and night time snacking! Somebody in our house (that woud be me) needs to stop buying chocolate. 🙂 I started blogging not too long before you did … April of this year. Keep it up! Glad to have met you!

    • mamabyfire says:

      I always buy the 72 ounce bags of chocolate chips at Costco. I need to stop because I go through it way too fast! We’re still young in the blogging world! So much to learn! Im so glad to have met you too!

  3. Naomi says:

    Good luck on the patience in the kitchen with kids! I would like that, too, but I can’t seem to keep my kiddo focused enough on her task. I end up having to tell her to stop doing 50 billion things, then kick her out of the kitchen so I don’t burn the food.

  4. Valerie says:

    Happy New Year! 🙂
    This is the first year in many, many years that I’ve thought about changes I want to make in the coming year. It feels really good to have a plan!
    I love all the pics you shared – such a sweet family! XO

Leave a Reply

