Christmas Crafting Round-Up

Now its really getting down to the wire. Are you ready for Christmas? Do you have a few people to shop for? Have you found out people are coming over unexpectedly?

Some of the things Little Miss and I have done this month may help you out. We’ve decorated the house and made gifts all on a budget. This is my list of everything we did.

Decor:

1. Coffee Filter Wreath. After several weeks of being outside in a few wind and rain storms, its still looking good. I must have picked the perfect place on the house for it./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3983.png2. Ornaments in the window./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3982.png3. Snowflakes on the wall. (My personal favorite.)/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3981.png4. Ornament wreath./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3980.pngThe instructions for #’s 2-4 can be found here.

Gifts:

1. Grandparent mugs.

You will need:

Mugs

Stickers with whatever design you want for your mug

Sharpies

We bought our mugs at Goodwill for fifty cents each. The stickers were from the Dollar Store. The sharpies were about $2.50, only because I wanted to use different colors.

Put the stickers on your mug. /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3883.jpgGive the mug to the kid and let them go to town. /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3887.jpgMake sure they outline the stickers though, I didn’t at first…let’s just say Grandpa Rex will know its his mug because I’ll tell him it is…

Let it dry. Take the stickers off. My daughter really liked this part, but be aware, the ink will come of if scratched at this point.

Put in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes. I haven’t tested them out yet, but apparently the sharpies are baked on and you can run the mugs through the dish washer. I love how they turned out, but be warned, the colors aren’t nearly as vibrant once baked./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3975.jpgWe added some candy in the mug and wrapped them.

2. Sriracha Salt

I love Instagram! Have I said that yet? I have learned so much from the other mamas on there! This fancy salt was from a mama who posted a photo with instructions the other day. The following are from what she posted and how I adapted…

You will need:

3/4 cup coarse salt

3 Tablespoons Sriracha Chili Sauce

Preheat oven to 350 degress. Mix ingredients together. Spread on a baking sheet as evenly as possible. TURN OFF THE OVEN. Put the baking sheet in.

Original instructions said to leave for 3-4 hours. I checked it after 2 1/2 and it was caked onto the pan (or foil, rather).

I threw it in my mortar and beat the crap out of it. Package it up and you’re all set. /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3963.jpgI found this little spice container at World Market-one of my favorite places at Christmas time.

3. Birdseed Ornaments

So much easier and faster than I expected!

You will need:

Cooking spray (Olive oil works fine too)

Parchment paper

3/4 cup flour

1 packet unflavored gelatin

3 Tablespoons clear corn syrup

1/2 cup water

4 cups birdseed

Cookie cutters or molds

Twine/ribbon

Put some parchment paper on a cookie sheet. Spray cookie cutters with cooking spray.

Mix flour, gelatin, corn syrup, and water. Add birdseed. Mix well.

Throw it all into your cookie cutters. Fill it up and press firmly. Make a hole wherever you want the twine to go, I used a cut up drinking straw. After about an hour, gently push out the ornament. Let dry for a few hours and flip over. Put your twine through and you’re done.

I only had one Christmas cookie cutter, a gigantic snowflake,/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3976.jpgso the rest of our ornaments are random animals…Stegosaurus, anyone?/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/84d/69271887/files/2014/12/img_3979.jpgIf you’re freaking out because you need a few last minute gifts, I hope this helps. Who doesn’t want a gift made by your little one, anyhow?

Good luck, happy crafting, and have a Merry Christmas!!

6 thoughts on “Christmas Crafting Round-Up

  1. melissajane01 says:

    I love all these ideas! I didn’t realize you could bake on permanent markers. I really like the coffee filter wreath.

  2. Alana says:

    These are AWESOME!!! We did DIY mugs but I like your idea better than mine!!! And I love the bird seed ornaments! Oh and the Sriacha salt!!!! I’m stealing all your ideas. I mean, I’m pinning them 😛 hope all four of you had a very Merry Christmas!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

