All I Want for My Birthday…

Sometimes those little monsters darling angels run me ragged.

There are days where I wonder what the hell I’m doing.

How did I get here?

Why did I CHOOSE to stay at home with the kids?

They make me crazy. Or at least, they make me feel like I’m on the edge of losing it.

Constantly needing me for things.

I don’t get to enjoy food anymore, unless I’m hiding in a closet. Even then, I’m inhaling whatever it is I’m hiding. Where’s the enjoyment in that?

A nice relaxing bath? If they’re asleep, maybe it’s relaxing. If they’re awake, well, I finally figured out I should lock the door.

Don’t misunderstand. I feel very fortunate to be able to stay home with my children. But it is a job (without pay), and like any job, there are really bad days.

My husband works extremely hard. He works ten hour days. By the time he gets home, we are both ready for a break.

Often, I feel as if I’ve been counting down the minutes until he gets home so I can just freaking pee by myself.

He’s been working all day and he just wants a moment to unwind. (In my head, his drive home is his time to “unwind.” Is that messed up? It is, isn’t it?)

He walks through the door and he’s bombarded with requests from me, the little girl, and even the baby wants in on the action (urgent arms up towards daddy).IMG_3080.JPGThere have been days where the kids have been particularly hard on me, (poor mama!), and my husband just tells me to leave.

Usually it’s a sweet suggestion.

There have been a few times, however, its not so much a suggestion as it is a direct order.

That was back when I didn’t have a car.

Have I ever mentioned that?

For two and a half years I was a stay at home mom with no car. Six months of that was with a two year old and an infant.

It was one year ago this week that my husband bought me a car for my birthday. (Good luck buying me something this year, buddy!)

It was fine without a car during the summer. Fun, even.

We would walk to the park or the library. And we would always make time for the coffee shop. IMG_5624.JPGBut once it started getting rainy, we (I) would start to get crazy cabin fever.

Then there were the meltdowns from being cooped up inside. Have you ever had to explain to a two year old why you are throwing a tantrum? It’s about as easy as calming them down from one. Just a blank stare, followed by a completely unrelated request.

Anyhow, one year ago today (ish), my husband surprised me by telling me I was getting a car. The only reason he told me was because he wanted to be sure to pick something I liked.

He did good. He got me the most beautiful car that ever was. (My judgement may have been clouded by the winter weather and being stuck inside. But to this day, it’s the best car in the world).IMG_3640.JPGI love my car husband!

He picked a dark blue 2002 Honda CRV, and this mama could not be happier!

It’s the best gift next to being asked “How do you do it all day, every day?” I can’t hear that enough! I’m certain the reason I got that car was because he wondered that any time I would ditch him with the kids.

This year, for my birthday, nothing can top the regained sanity and new found freedom of a car. So there’s no reason to even try.

Maybe give me the house to myself with some Godiva chocolates and let me be for a few hours. That’s what I would like this year. Then after that, we can all load up in the car and head out for some family fun.

What is the most surprising gift you’ve ever gotten for your birthday?

10 thoughts on “All I Want for My Birthday…

  1. Elisa says:

    What a sweet post. How DO you do it? I’m baking my first right now and will return to work within six months of her being born. I’m not sure how I would do it being at home… no car… no man for 10+ hours!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Haha! It was pretty rough without a car. Lucky for me, we lived near my FIL. So if I REALLY needed to get out for a second, he would lend me his car and watch the kids while I went on a coffee run. Congratulations on your little one!!

  2. Melinda says:

    I can totally relate to this article!! Everything about it screams my life 🙂 I can totally understand how you just want to you give him the kids and go off as soon as he gets home from work because his drive home should be his time to relax lol. I used to feel so guilty about wanting to do that, but luckily I have a wonderful husband so after I gave him a second to get himself together he takes our daughter for a while. I couldn’t imagine being stuck in the house with my daughter without a car. I would have serious cabin fever also! Your husband did well with your fabulous car!!!….. Love this article and your blog!!!

  3. Melinda says:

    I forgot to add that all you want for your birthday sounds FABULOUS! The house to yourself and then a day out with your family sounds like the perfect day!

  4. Naomi says:

    This is so sweet! I think my most memorable birthday present was when I was a kid. My dad got me the guinea pig I really liked at the pet store. I didn’t expect it and had only really said that I liked that one best. I’ve had super good presents since then, but I remember that one the most.

Leave a Reply

