I Am Not a Juice Box

It has been such an amazing journey nursing my son. I feel so fortunate because I didn’t experience any of it with my daughter.

I’ve learned a lot about what works and what doesn’t. I’m like any mom who has been there and back with breastfeeding and I’m pretty much an expert. I could give a class on all the ins and outs of breastfeeding. (Side note-never listen to a self proclaimed expert.)

I’ve tried all the different positions, (football hold, anyone?)

Then there was my made up, unorthodox position that was the only way my son would eat.

I would lay him on the floor. Then prop myself above him and lower my boob to him. For a few months, he refused to eat any other way. Not so easy on the neck, or back for that matter.

Recently, things have transitioned. I don’t feel like I’m providing milk anymore. I’m more like a giant deli sandwich, followed by a CapriSun.

Literally.

Imagine you just ordered a sandwich. It’s so big, you need to use both hands for the first bite. I’ll call this the “sandwich hold.”

The baby has my boob in a sandwich hold at the beginning of each feed.

Once the eating session on that side starts coming to an end, my breast is no longer a sandwich. It becomes an almost empty juice box. He’s got to be sure to squeeze out every last drop. And, yes, it takes both hands.

As sweet and adorable as this is, I’m thinking I’m done.IMG_2474.JPGAt least, I’m ready to be done. Now starts the process of weaning. I didn’t have to do this with my oldest so it’s all going to be new. My hope is to start actively weaning after New Year’s.

We just moved into a new place and the Holidays have arrived. Too much change all at once can be devastating for a little one.

So, come January (at 18 months old), my little guy is cut off. Or, rather, he will be slowly and lovingly switched to a different type of milk, partnered with other forms of nourishment.IMG_3139.JPG At least that’s the plan. But as we all know, kids like to mess with our plans.

How old was your little one when you started weaning? How did you approach it? Any tips are welcome!

Thank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

20 thoughts on “I Am Not a Juice Box

  1. Marla says:

    Tarynn, your posts always make me smile! Nursing is funny in that every mom has to figure it out for their baby. I tried so many different positions, but in the end just had to do what felt right for me to. And it was hard for me to wean my boy. He didn’t want to and was still going strong, but I felt the need to. I actually wrote a post about it, you can see it here: https://apendulumworld.wordpress.com/2014/08/11/7/

    Good luck with the process!! πŸ™‚

  2. coffeemugsandsippycups says:

    Aww it is hard switching and weaning. Such a special bond you have formed!! I think, if your kiddo is anything like mine, it will be harder on you to wean than it will for him. At least that it is how it went for me so far. πŸ˜‰ I hope it goes well for you!!!!

  3. andthreetogo says:

    Z was two years old and two days the very last time I nursed her. I started way before that though. I started by no middle of the night feedings, than the first thing in the morning nursing, then the nap time one, then finally the bedtime one. It was gradual and she mostly was ok with it. I just told her it was all gone when she asked about it, gave her extra cuddles instead of nursing while putting her to bed and stayed consistent. It was not too difficult and I was soooo ready! You can do this! Good luck!

  4. Naomi says:

    I had to stop breastfeeding so I could get on medicine, yuck! We dropped one feeding at a time. She was mostly okay with that, but bedtime was a bit rough. She cried the first two nights without it, but she got better when she got used to the new routine of cuddling instead. Of course, my first day of the medicine, she got a stomach virus and couldn’t keep anything down. I felt so bad that I couldn’t breastfeed her.

  5. workingmommagic says:

    That is so awesome you have been able to keep it up for this long! I did 6 months with my daughter and I was counting down the days until I could stop! It was hard for me to keep up my supply once I went back to work, cause I want having to pump. I could have kept going if I was home with her I think. maybe. Ha!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Thank you! The only reason i could go so long, I think, is because I’m home. I pumped for a year for my daughter, I dont know if I could have done it for my son. Pumping is the worst!

  6. lindsaybozek says:

    first of all – I love your descriptions here – so truthful to the way it really is when breastfeeding a toddler! I weaned both of my girls by cutting out one feeding at a time, leaving the morning feed for the last one. I know many woman to left the night time feeding for last, and that one will drag out forever! I’m done nursing now, and don’t plan to have more children, and it’s a little sad – but I look back on my nursing days fondly πŸ™‚ good luck!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Thank you so much! And thank you foe the advice! I’m not sure which one I will leave for last yet, we’ll see how it goes. I know I’m ready to be done now, but when I actually am, I’ll probably miss it.

Leave a Reply

