This is All so….Unexpected

Earlier today, my husband said something that was music to my ears.

I love you? Hahahaha!! No. Better.

Instead of telling me he loves me, he’s going to SHOW me he loves me.

He said, “After I take a shower, would you like me to take the kids to the store with me?”

Uh, YEAH!!

All of a sudden, clouds parted, angels started singing, I got teary eyed…

Ok, maybe that all didn’t happen, but my mind did start racing…with possibilities.

What should I do with this unexpected alone time?! Now keep in mind, as glorious as this opportunity is, it is likely going to be less than an hour so I need to prioritize.

I can unpack a few of the remaining pesky boxes left in the garage. I could rake the leaves outside before it gets dark. Or, I could be really annoying and get a jump start on dinner.

Instead of accomplishing any of those tasks, I have chosen to take a nice hot bath. And I’m going to eat one of my Godiva chocolates out in the open, without hiding or turning my back from a nosey toddler.IMG_3217.JPGTHAT is what I call some good ‘me’ time.

What would you do with an unexpected hour of alone time?

38 thoughts on “This is All so….Unexpected

  1. Rebekah says:

    Sorta slowly drink some chai and read a fiction book written for adults. 🙂 Or clean. Because I love how quickly you can clean without littles in the house.

  2. Naomi says:

    I play video games and eat chocolate with my hour of freedom 😛 No matter how much work needs to get done, I love my little bit of time to play and not hide my treat!

  3. melissajane01 says:

    I always seem to end up writing. But sometimes I will watch a show or take a shower and actually do my hair. I love it when the hubby takes both kids on an outing. Glad you got some time to yourself.

  4. Christine says:

    I can’t believe he took the kids to the store! It would’ve been the opposite in my house. He would’ve stayed home with the kids and I would’ve went and that would’ve been my hour alone…hehe!

  5. Sue Parke says:

    LOL!!! My husband took our daughter out for 2 hours a couple weekends ago and I literally sat for about 20 minutes enjoying SILENCE! Then I ate breakfast – holy shit – I ATE a MEAL! Then I worked on my blog, I took a hot shower and a nap! BEST gift EVER! Love this post! So glad I’m not the only mother out there that thinks an hour or two of freedom is like a frigging vacation! LOL 🙂

      • Sue Parke says:

        Also, am I the only sappy mother that when I actually leave her to go out on a date (which hasn’t happened in two months) I then miss her?! What’s wrong with me? I need breaks and then when I get them I’m sad and worry. Sigh! But now I’m hoping for a “vacation” on Thanksgiving – let the family pass her around for the day! Have a great holiday and I’m glad you got a break! 🙂

      • mamabyfire says:

        I’m the same way. We get to go on date nights once a week if we want. But we only do dinner OR a movie because I want to get home. LOL! I hope you get to relax a bit this week. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!!

  6. Colleen says:

    I would watch something on Netflix and eat ice cream out of the carton. My kids are in school all day, but my husband works from home. Sometimes he’s just as bad as the kids!

  7. The Trophy WifeStyle says:

    Ahhhhh that sounds like an amazing hour!!!! Mad jealous 😉 the rare occasion that, that occurs for me…. Omg I draw a complete blank and can’t think of what I wanna do…. But when I’m crazy busy…. 628892 things on my mind I rather be doing lol

Leave a Reply

