A Forbidden Side Dish

Lately the husband has been obsessed with the ever so creepy looking black rice. Also known as “Forbidden Rice.”

I was skeptical the first time I made it. Since I’m useless with a rice cooker (I’m no longer on your “Domestic Goddess” Pedestal, am I?), I cooked it on the stove. It ended up being pretty tasty, hence the new found obsession.

Well, I happen to be in love with cauliflower rice, so I thought I might combine the two…

The trick with cooking the black rice, is washing it really well. I measure what I need, put it in a bowl, then cover in water. Rub the rice together in your hands over and over again. The water will turn a disgusting fantastic purple color.IMG_3006.JPGCarefully dump out the water and add some more. Wash, scrub, then dump until the water is as clear as you can get it. It took me about three times.

To cook the rice, the ratio is two to one. So one cup of rice, to two cups of water. (You could try it with chicken broth if you’d like, but I am still a bit gun-shy when it comes to making rice so I stick with water.)

Bring to a boil, cover and cook for 15 minutes. It smells sort of floral-y or sweet, you could say. Don’t worry though, it tastes nothing like flowers.

While your rice is cooking, prepare the cauliflower.

After they’re both done, season, serve and enjoy.IMG_3012.JPGYou’ve got your veggies in there and the starch, all you have to do now is add your protein. I put stew meat (that had been cooking in my crockpot all day), on top. It was delicious.

Also, after doing a quick search I found that the rice is a good source of iron, Vitamin E, AND it has more antioxidants than blueberries. BAM! Super tasty, and healthy!

So if you’ve ever been curious about Forbidden Rice, or if this is the first you’re hearing of it, give it a shot. It’s tastier than white or brown rice and a bit more fun!

Have you ever had black rice before? What about cauliflower rice?

Thank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

27 thoughts on “A Forbidden Side Dish

  1. thegomamas says:

    I have made this rice , it is an excellent source of nutrients and is a nice alternative to white or brown rice, especially in wraps.

  2. Tricia says:

    You have inspired me to try out some forbidden rice. I really like it, but I usually make the plain white since it doesn’t take too long. I love adding veggies and a little cheese to my rice. I’m going to have to give this a try!

  3. Mommy A to Z says:

    I’ve never heard of black rice. Sounds super healthy, though. My kids like rice…maybe this is a good way to get a little extra iron into their diets! Thanks for the idea πŸ™‚

  4. Alana says:

    Okay, I’ve never heard of this, but I have definitely heard of an inability to make rice (that’s Me!!!!). Double water to one part rice and fifteen minutes sounds fool proof…. Where did you buy it? I think I’m going to give it a tentative try (just for fear of ruining the rice) prepared as you have!

  5. Naomi says:

    I’ve never heard of it! I’ll have to give it a try. I like the rice maker so I don’t have to worry about messes or over-cooking. Having the rice washed and adding an extra few spoonfuls of water usually keep the rice from sticking to the bottom for me.

Leave a Reply

