Mama Has a Question…

I’ve became acquainted with a lot of different social media outlets since becoming a blogger.

For me, life used to be simple. Facebook was all I knew.

Then I started to blog and nobody was reading it. Turns out, it was because I wasn’t sharing it (duh!) I would share an occasional post on my personal Facebook page, but let’s face it, my brother doesn’t want to know that I wrote a post about milk blisters.

So he suggested that I get involved in Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest. I eventually added my very own Mama By Fire Facebook page. And just this week, I added Tsu.

But my point of this post isn’t to get you to follow me on those platforms (feel free to, though 😉.) It’s to share my love of Instagram.IMG_2875.PNGI am now connected with over 700 other mommies around the world. If I have a question regarding child rearing, cooking, cleaning, etc… I can ask. The responses are awesome and often hilarious.IMG_2874.PNGThe other day, the very first full day at our new house, Miss Z dropped a container of finger paint on the carpet.

Yikes!! We had hard wood at our old place! What do I do?!

First, I take water and a cloth and spread it around. Seemed logical at the time.

Next, I took a picture of that stain and posted it on IG with a call out for help. I got a bunch of response! IMG_2870.PNGFrom hydrogen peroxide or baking soda and vinegar, to the big boys, Resolve and Folex.

I wanted to be as chemical free as possible at first. I did the vinegar and baking soda. I did it three times. It looked a lot better, but you could still definitely see some blue. (As you can see, I wasn’t concerned with cleaning the shaggy rug.)IMG_2801.JPGNext I had to try the Folex, because it was suggested by a mommy friend and my cousin agreed with her. My cousin said, “I have some Folex, and it’s amazeballs.”

I had never even heard of it before! So, Folex it is! And in the end, it was the winner! Not perfect, I grant you, but a whole lot better!!IMG_2912.JPGWould the baking soda and vinegar work? Probably. Eventually. But I was done trying after three times.

That’s why I love IG. I learn tried and true methods from mama’s like me that had to figure stuff out the hard way.

What’s your favorite social media platform and why? Have you ever asked for help on any of them?

14 thoughts on “Mama Has a Question…

  1. Ewa says:

    I love following you and love Instagram for the Same reasons! I’m actually off facebook now and find that a huge weight has been lifted!

  2. threeboysandamom says:

    I feel like I should do instagram but I had one preblog and just never used it. I’m on Facebook more than anything, although I’m slacking there lately too. Social media is like a sea and I feel like I’m drowning lately haha, but I do love if!! Good job with the stain!!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Yes! Drowning is a perfect description!! I feel the same way sometimes. This week i haven’t cared as much because I’ve been a zombie. Haha! Thank you-I was happy with the result. 😊

  3. Alana says:

    This is so awesome! When I started blogging my brother told me I needed to get twitter… Pinterest was my most recent add. Please keep me updated on TSU. I don’t want to have too many social media outlets, but don’t want to miss out on the party either 😉 so cool about your Pinterest account and all the love you get!!!

  4. Melissande says:

    Instagram is awesome! I love all the funny pictures I get to see each day. Do you find that it brings in a lot of traffic to your blog? For me, I think I can count 1 time that it did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

