7 Thoughts Keeping Me Sane While Unpacking

We finally made the big move!

Do you know what sucks more than packing all your shit stuff up? Trying to unpack with two toddlers. I feel as if there’s been a steady scream inside my head for the past five days.

Most of us in the family have had to wear the same thing two (or more) days in a row because we couldn’t find anything adequate to wear.

But don’t you worry, every one of my fancy dress up dresses are easy access. So there’s that.

We won’t have trash pick up for another week, and our washer and dryer aren’t hooked up yet.

Not knowing where things are, have become the bane of my existence.

Some thoughts that are helping me get through at this very moment:

1. It’s the weekend!! My husband will be off for four days so we can handle the chaos together. Also, my parents are going to watch the kids for us tomorrow so we can tackle said chaos by ourselves. IMG_2791.JPG(Where’s the little girl?)

2. The kitchen is done. I have everything I need to make food. It was touch and go there when I couldn’t find the crockpot, but it was found, so life is good.

3. We have our wi-fi hooked up. If you asked me yesterday, I maybe would have answered between sobs something about UPS and the wrong address… But, alas, the husband made it happen and got our wireless internet up and running.

4. The kids LOVE it here! Not sure if it’s because it’s a new place or what, but they seem to be having the time of their lives!IMG_2828.JPGIt probably helps we’ve been seeing extended family all week.IMG_2865.JPG5. I thought I was close to stores at our old place. Not compared to here! I am within five minutes of a Fred Meyer, Safeway, AND Wal Mart. But from the view of our backyard, you would never know it.IMG_2868.JPGSadly, my beloved Trader Joe’s is more of a drive. But it’s right next to Costco, so when I need to go to one, I can always go to the other.

6. No more airplanes. At our old house we lived ten minutes from the airport. We had double-pane, sound proof windows, but crack those suckers just a little and we felt like we lived on one of the runways. Forget BBQ’s at our house, having to stop your conversation because a plane was going overhead got to be too embarrassing.

7. The only things I miss from our old place is the delicious tap water, and the kitchen timer on the stove. And both can be dealt with.

There’s nothing like having all of your stuff right in front of your face that makes you want to rethink the crap you decided to keep. I see a few more GoodWill runs in our future. Because as we unpack, we’ll ask ourselves, do we really want to move that next time?

This will be a great move. We’re away from the big city and things feel more relaxed on this side (of the water).

We just have a few weeks worth of unpacking to do, so we must grasp at the positive. And I’ll spare you pictures of the garage, also, I don’t want to remember what it looks like. So here’s a cute one of the boy helping me.IMG_2789.JPGMy goal is to be done by Thanksgiving. (Enter hysterical cry face emoji.)

Do you have any tips to share that helped you keep your cool while unpacking?

Thank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

13 thoughts on “7 Thoughts Keeping Me Sane While Unpacking

  1. threeboysandamom says:

    Oh tarynn! Moving is so awful! But you’ve done a great job clinging to the positives. That’s really all you can do! Moving will make you lose your mind no matter what, but add the kids in and it’s a nightmare. I’m glad you’ve got some help. Just try to remember to breathe and enjoy things along the way as much as possible. Take breaks. And remember it’ll get done in time…don’t try to tackle it all over night. You’ll get there! Glad the move itself is over and the kids are adjusting well!

  2. maggiemaysgifts says:

    oh that is the worst when things aren’t settled but that’s great there are so many positives about the new place! I’m sure you’ll have it all together before you know it. Congrats on the move!

  3. andthreetogo says:

    I love moving! And the unpacking is fun (when the kids are away for sure), but I am a complete weirdo, I know. It sounds like you are doing a great job, and when it comes to unpacking I think it is better to go slow and do it right the first time. πŸ™‚ I guess just wait to meet the neighbors until you have clean clothes on though? Hahaha

  4. melissajane01 says:

    I have never moved with kids. I said I’m waiting until my littlest is older. I’m glad you got your WiFi hooked up…that would drive me crazy. Congrats on your new place.

  5. Melissande says:

    Good luck to you on your unpacking! I feel your pain girl. I had 3 teeny ones last time we moved and – oh my! I love your “find the girl” picture – haha! I can also relate to the close to the airport thing to a certain degree. It’s not so very loud where we live, but I can see planes every time I glance at the sky. πŸ™‚ I love your backyard view! What a great place for your kids to play!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Thank you! Oh, man! Three?! Wow! Haha, i felt as if i had my very own “Where’s Waldo” picture. Thanks! We’re excited for the nicer weather (in six months), so we can play outside.

  6. wrightbrittany says:

    K, first off, your kiddos are ADORABLE! Secondly, keep your chin up. Before you know it, you’ll be all unpacked and settled in and feeling right at home! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

