Veggies in Your Taco Meat

Between housesitting for ten days, looking for a new place to live, and packing, we have been insanely busy.

I haven’t taken the time to visit my little corner of the internet nearly as much as I’d like, so I thought I would at least do a favorite recipe post. We still gotta eat, right?

The main reason I love this recipe so much is it is so versatile.

Another reason it’s awesome is it has three different vegetables in it and half the time the kids don’t notice, (I’d love to say they never notice, but that is too big a claim.)

Lastly, I love this recipe because it freezes spectacularly, (that’s right, “spectacularly.”)

veggies taco meat collage edit

You will need:
1 pound ground beef (or ground turkey)
1/2 chopped bell pepper
1/2 diced onion
2 grated carrots
The smaller you cut everything, the better you hide it from the kids…IMG_2385.JPGThrow everything in a pan and cook.IMG_2386.JPGDepending on your plans for this mix determines your seasonings.

If you want to use it for taco night, add a taco seasoning packet (or your own taco seasoning.)IMG_2387.JPGIf you want to freeze it and have it handy for future meals, just simply add salt and pepper.

When I make it, I double or triple the recipe and freeze all of the leftovers in quart sized freezer bags. Label it clearly, flatten it out, and toss it in the freezer.

You can add this to anything you would normally make with ground beef. Spaghetti, chili, lasagna, quesadillas…you get the idea….

I’ve made this for many a Fantasy Football parties and it has always been a hit!

What’s your favorite go to recipe?

Coffee With Us 3

 

Thank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

20 thoughts on “Veggies in Your Taco Meat

  1. Naomi says:

    I used to do that with spaghetti sauce when the kiddo still liked it. You can put all kinds of hidden stuff, squash and the like, in a sauce!

  2. Ellen Oliveira says:

    I love taco’s and I never really thought to freeze this!! It would awesome and so quick to make pretty much anything out this. Light bulb just went on in this little head of mine. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Tricia the Good Mama says:

    This is so simple I can’t believe I haven’t thought of it! We love tacos in our family, but we always keep everything separate for some reason. I’m not sure why! haha I’m definitely going to try it all together from now on.

Leave a Reply

