Pumpkin Bread

After a full day of slaving away over pumpkins and a blender, my sister Shannon, and my cousin Kelly had some beautiful homemade pumpkin puree. It really was a sight to behold. I even got to try the tasty pumpkin seeds. And after I nabbed my sister around six, rumor has it that my cousin was up and working another three hours to finish what she had started.

I was one of the lucky ones to get a jar and I was not going to let it go to waste. I wanted some pumpkin bread now!

So where do we all go for recipe upon recipe of whatever food product we have? Right, Pinterest. So I went, and looked and perused…so freaking many to choose from. I found one that was a bit interesting to me because it involved almond milk. Seemed weird, but I had some (sorta-I had the dark chocolate stuff), so why not give it a try?

I used the recipe I found loosely, based on what I had, so this is MY version of a pumpkin bread recipe found on Pinterest.

pumpkin bread ingredients edit

  • 1½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1½ teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cloves
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1½ cups brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup unsweetened pumpkin puree
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ⅓ cup dark chocolate almond milk
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips

There were a lot of specific instructions for every ingredient. It involved a sifter, a mixer, and several minutes for every step.

Well, the little lady and I were making this “quick” bread while the baby was sleeping and her bedtime was fast approaching.

Or I was just being lazy. Either way, these are the steps WE took.

1. Mix the butter in a bowl until creamed. (A few quick stirs.)

2. Add the brown sugar and stir well.

3. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing between.

4. Add pumpkin puree, stir.

5. Add half of the flour, all of the cinnamon, baking soda, salt, ginger, and cloves. Mix well.

6. Add half of the almond milk and all of the vanilla. Stir.

7. Add remaining flour, stir.

8. Add remaining almond milk, stir.

9. Add chocolate chips, stir.

10. Grease a bread pan with your method of choice, (I used Pam), then line the bottom with parchment paper. Fill the pan with your pumpkin bread mix.

pumpkin bread batter edit

11. Cook for 1 hour in a 350 degree oven. (I checked after 40 minutes, it needed more time.)

pumpkin bread out of the oven edit

The original recipe called for nutmeg, but I didn’t have any. That’s where the chocolate chips came in.

It turned out AMAZING! Would it have been better with the extra time and steps? Maybe, but not likely, it was delicious as is. (Bonus: My husband said it was the best pumpkin bread he had ever had.)

pumpking bread slices edit 2

What do you make with pumpkin puree? I have a bit left and I would love to give something else a try! Please share below!

Thank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

12 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bread

  1. Melissande says:

    Stop it! You’re making me want pumpkin bread! Must stick to diet, must stick to diet! Seriously, this looks insane. Maybe I can make some for my family and resist? They’d love me forever. Tarynn, you’re a domestic goddess!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Haha! I was just thinking today that i need to get back to my diet…as I was eating my pumpkin bread. Your family would love it, but it would be hard resisting a bite or two. Thank you, LOL!

  2. Naomi says:

    I read somewhere that you can replace the oil in baking recipes (like box cakes) with pumpkin puree. I haven’t tried it.

Leave a Reply

