Forced Down Time

Everyday life as a mom is not easy. You have to watch and/or entertain the kids, tidy up (if you actually clean with cleaners everyday, you’re my hero), and you “get” to cook all day long.

Sure, you get your escapes here and there. Facebook, Twitter, a sip of luke warm coffee. Then it’s back to it.

Lately my family has an extra element thrown in there.

We’re moving.

Well, in the process of. We don’t have a place to move to yet. So, we’re actually packing, getting rid of as much crap as we can, and searching for a new place.

When I say, “getting rid of crap,” I mean it. We’ve been in the same house for 8 years, and my husband’s parents lived there before us.

It’s not a small house, either. There is crap, um, precious valuables that someone else could use, in every single nook and cranny.

So if we don’t use it, or haven’t used it in the last year, it goes. By the time we move, we’re hoping we won’t need a storage unit and won’t have much clutter. I realize this is asking a lot with two small children, but we can try, can’t we?

The big move day (the day I have the trucks and the muscles pinned down), is November 3rd.

Now just for fun, we’re going to put the packing and the purging on hold for ten days.

Why, you ask? Because we’re needed elsewhere to house sit. My parents are in Japan, (so awesome, I know), and the labradoodle, Eclair, can’t feed herself.IMG_2040-0.JPGI could stress myself out into a gigantic mess, or I can appreciate the forced down time.IMG_1971-0.JPGPlus we have a lot of family on this side of the water, so we’ll get to see some of them.

And if course this weekend we have big plans to go house hunting, (not Sunday, though, that’s reserved for football, obvs.)

And luckily for me, I’m a master list maker. I can make a ton of lists and organize everything that needs to be done when we get home in a beautiful Excel spreadsheet. That’ll make it a lot easier, right? And less stressful….right?!

So while we’re here, I may as well enjoy it. The kids are already having a blast,IMG_1964.JPGand really, how can anyone complain with a view of Mt. Rainier like this?IMG_2049-0.JPGIMG_2047-1.JPGDo you have any organization hacks that may help our anxiety levels stay in check? Please share!

Thank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

 

30 thoughts on “Forced Down Time

  1. twitchetts.blogspot.com says:

    I’m getting ready to move too (Army Life). I make the rule too, if you haven’t used it in a year… I found myself ‘using’ a few things just to keep them 😉 Big tip for you is don’t overwhelm yourself. Pick a room/area a day to go through and sort into Pack, Donate, Sell, or Trash piles. Don’t let your kids help as much as you want them to they will convince you to keep things they wont miss, as moms we have a hard enough time parting with things! Have them go through their toys and pick out some to donate. Trash things that are broken or missing pieces. We do this before every holiday! Good Luck with the move!

  2. productivewahm says:

    Enjoy your down time. I’m thinking of taking a vacation for a couple of weeks in November. I won’t be going anywhere, I just need a break from my work to focus on the mommy stuff for a while. 😀

  3. Melodi Steinberg says:

    Yikes! I do not envy you. I have not moved in over 14 years so I do not have any advice. But when all else fails pour yourself a glass of wine!

  4. Alana says:

    You’re in Washington???? I am supposed to be voting for you on TMB but just realized you’re not THAT far from me. I just assumed everyone lived plane rides away. And you have a labradoodle? When the time comes, that is our dog of choice. I realize I’m not commenting on what you wrote, but what I saw. I just got excited. Lol.

  5. Valerie says:

    Oh, what a beautiful view!!
    Enjoy the forced break and I wish you luck on downsizing your junk…er, stuff. 😉 We’ve been doing the EXACT same thing!

    • mamabyfire says:

      It is! 😀 Thanks, I will. I feel as if we’ve been getting rid of stuff for years. It’s so funny how we hang onto things we don’t use for so long. Good luck on your purging too! 🙂

  6. workingmommagic says:

    Yes just try to enjoy yourself and what an amazing view!! Tell your parents I’ll house sit for them next vacation! 😉

  7. Jen @ The Halfway Homemaker says:

    We just moved. The hardest part isn’t moving, it is settling into the new place. Call in handymen to fix any little problems, place shelf paper and deep clean before you start bringing your stuff over to the new place. It is so much easier to prepare and organize a home before all your stuff gets there.

  8. threeboysandamom says:

    We all need some down time every now and then…even though it’s never really down time once you become a mom. But at least you get a break from the packing and are enjoying time with your babies. Beautiful pictures ☺

  9. Naomi says:

    Hrm, my giant organization help is to just not plan anything because the kids always have something else in mind. Not much help 😛 If you can get a neighbor or friend to watch the kids the day the big trucks are there, it’s a huge help.

  10. Tricia the Good Mama says:

    Good luck with your move! We just moved this past August. Where does all of the junk come from?! I got ride of a lot of stuff. I used this company that came in and took all of our leftover junk and donated it.

Leave a Reply

