Emotions Everywhere

Today was a bit rough. With the kiddos and me fighting a cold, we were all in a pissy mood. Except for the boy. IMG_1659.JPGHe’s always happy and smiling, even if there are two rows of green snot flowing straight to his mouth.

Hey, I stayed on top of it the best I could, but I am only human.

He definitely had his moody moments, but for the most part those were from his big sis.

Ugh! That girl! She was a disaster today. She was crying about EVERYTHING! She kept “hurting” herself, and would launch into a fit. Then she would come crying to me for a “huggie.”

So as a result of the extremely emotional girl and boy, this mama is wiped. Did I mention that I’m recovering from the cold too?

Anyway, today was horrible. With 6 meltdowns by 10 am (5 of which were the girl), I knew I was in for it.

They went down for their naps at the same time though. I will give them that. I had a glorious half hour to myself to collect some sanity before I got to get back to it.

I almost got there. But when I checked the monitor, my lovely lady wasn’t asleep. She was actually on the floor reading a book. And then the boy woke up. So, all are sick and no one wants to nap.

Well, we’ve been stuck in the house for three days and we need diapers. Maybe we’re all crazy from cabin fever! Time for the store!

On the way I got myself a coffee and a cake ball.IMG_1583.JPGSince I got my Keurig, I rarely go to a coffee shop anymore. At this point of the day, I felt like I deserved it. And of course Z got a sucker.

I gave R a cracker. The longer I can keep Dum-Dums away from him, the better.

The store was fairly uneventful, thankfully!

The rest of the afternoon and evening was, again, quite emotional. If I have to hear that whine-cry one more time!….

Both to bed on time and I get to have a big bowl of ice cream. (I know, second big treat of the day. I said it was rough, right?)

Once my husband came home, we got to settle in and watch one of our shows. I finally felt like I was starting to unwind.

Then we hear the whining cry…my little lady. (Enter eyeroll.)

Daddy was gone all day and hasn’t seen her so he goes up. She wasn’t having it. Usually she’s ok. She just wants some water and to be tucked in or hugged again, or whatever else, but no. She needed mama. (As frustrating as this can be sometimes, us mamas secretly love it.)

It took me a bit to calm her down. I talked to her quietly and had her take a few deep breaths. I asked her if she could use her words and tell me what was wrong.

She just wanted a “huggie.” I held her for a bit. Then I was able to lay her down while still hugging.

The moment my cheek met her sticky, tear soaked cheek, my tears started flowing.

It was an emotional day. Sometimes that happens and we can’t pinpoint why. And sometimes, all you need is a good cry. I can’t fault her for that. I won’t.

After a bit, I asked her if she was afraid of the dark. She didn’t seem to understand what I meant, so I asked her if she wanted the door open. She said yes.

Her body finally relaxed. I sang her a few songs as she struggled to stay awake, but it was so sweet being able to watch her drift off.

Tomorrow will be better. We’ll all be feeling better and Z and I got a cry in-I always feel better the next day.

If we have emotions flying everywhere again, we’ll load up in the car and go to the mall, or somewhere…anywhere!

What do you do when your kids are making you feel crazy? I need to come up with something better than chocolate and ice cream.IMG_1616.JPGThank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

18 thoughts on “Emotions Everywhere

  1. Naomi says:

    Oh, I usually do the ice cream and candy thing. I know it’s not the best. I always feel better if I get a good cry in, too. Unfortunately, it usually happens in front of the kiddo and makes her worse for a while.

    We had a super whiney day yesterday, too. Her allergies are bothering her, and she kept waking herself up with her own snores and shouting “NO!” which kept me running to her room to make sure someone hadn’t broken into the house and was hurting her. The weird stuff we moms worry about.

    • mamabyfire says:

      Poor little one with allergies! Those can be such a pain! when I have a bad day, I can justify eating anything, all day… I’ve had major breakdowns in front of my daughter too (I don’t think she noticed last night). The most it happened was when her brother was a baby. It would get too overwhelming sometimes. I hope your day today is better!

  2. threeboysandamom says:

    Oh those days are rough and I actually had a like that myself last night so today has been a little bit more emotional…always worst when Mama is tired! I say you definitely earned and deserved the cake drop and the coffee And the ice cream and whatever else you want! I hope you all feel better soon and continue better days this week!

  3. liquoriceuk says:

    Oh I really feel for you here – we had a similar kind of day this week too, it’s so hard when they’re having a difficult day and you’re tired and emotional too. I usually just resort to whatever makes them happiest in those moments, quite often for us it’s allowing J to sit and watch a DVD for a bit, or sit at the table and do some colouring or painting. Getting out of the house also helps too. Sometimes it helps just to get a bit emotional and have a cry as well. I hope tomorrow will be a much better day for you all x

  4. maggiemaysgifts says:

    I hear you. I have an emotional girl too. Just keep breathing. And I definitely fall back on sugar and lattes on those days. Sometimes I get a big bag of red vines and just gnaw on them all day ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. TheMommyAvenger says:

    Just getting out for a walk, even when you aren’t feeling 100% is good. Walking around a mall (do a scavenger hunt if you want), library or playground, even if you have to bundle up a bit. Fresh air is always a good thing. And chocolate and ice cream are always good, too.

  6. melissajane01 says:

    Oh, it’s hard being sick and taking care of sick kids. My daughter had a cold last week and my son woke up with it this morning. Luckily, it doesn’t seem too bad. A trip to the coffee shop and a treat always helps ease the pain. Hope you guys are doing better today.

Leave a Reply

