TJ’s Pumpkin Cornbread Pancakes

One of my favorite places to go lately is Trader Joe’s, (I know, a grocery store. Sad, huh?)

Their food is always fun and different, and seems to be a lot healthier than the stuff you get at a regular grocery store.

And they have the otter! They have this little stuffed otter they hide around the store for kids to find. When they find it, they tell a TJ’s employee and they get a sucker AND an apple. I don’t think it’s an otter in every store. I’ve heard some stores have unicorns…

So, the kids love shopping there too! There’s the excitement of finding the little guy, and then once found, the girl gets a sucker, and the boy gets to gnaw on an apple. Both are entertained the entire shopping trip.

No, Trader Joe’s did not pay me to write this post. I just really, really love it there. And now that it’s fall…you guessed it! Pumpkin flavored everything at TJ’s!!

We went there the other day and my husband picked out some pumpkin corn bread mix. I thought it was random and weird, but whatevs, it’s pumpkin.

A few days later, I was craving pancakes for breakfast.

From what I understand, people often crave these in the morning, but never me. I’m a waffles kind of girl, so when I wanted pancakes, I REALLY wanted them. I remembered the mix my husband got, and thought, hmmmmmm…..

I made the batter following the cornbread mix directions with the help of the 3 year old, (I only used half in case it was terrible).IMG_1448.JPGI also added some chocolate chips, because, well, they’re delicious. (My little lady got a bit overzealous with the chocolate chips though, we’ll probably do a few less next time…)IMG_1447.JPGIMG_1449.JPGThese were the best pancakes I’ve ever had! They didn’t need syrup or anything on top, and the texture was amazing!IMG_1452.JPGNow, if you’re into the “cakey” type pancakes, then maybe you should stick to TJ’s actual pumpkin pancake mix. But me? If I were to choose, I would get the cornbread again. They were a hit with the family too.IMG_1456.JPGIMG_1458.JPGNext time we go, we are definitely going to try the pumpkin ice cream-I’ve been hearing very good things!!

What’s your favorite fall flavor?

14 thoughts on “TJ’s Pumpkin Cornbread Pancakes

  1. melissajane01 says:

    Those look really good! We go to Trader Joes a few times a month. I’ve never heard of a stuffed animal hunt. I’ll have to ask. They do have a cool little train though.

Leave a Reply

