A Sticker on My Shirt

Potty training is not for the faint of heart.

Sure, there are all sorts of methods and some incredible stories online. (“We trained our one year old in 24 hours!!”)

We have tried many, many different things. All to no avail.

When we took Z in for her 3 year checkup (3 months ago) my husband and I practically begged her doctor for a solution. She merely shrugged and said, “Sorry, every kid is different.”

Then she off handedly suggested a sticker chart (nothing new there), and a dance party every time my husband or I went pee on the potty.

Ah Ha! A sticker chart for EVERYBODY! Not just her. Duh!

Off to the dollar store I went to get charts and stickers.IMG_0938.JPGAfter about a week and a half of dancing and high fiving every time we peed, (and after I had filled at least two charts), our stubborn lady decided she wanted in on the action.

She really wanted to pick out a sticker. Every time we got to, she would tell us which color we should pick. So of course we purposely didn’t pick that one. It finally worked. I actually teared up the first time she went, (I blame it on the nursing hormones).

Fast forward to today. She’s doing awesome going pee on the potty. She holds it beautifully while we’re out and about, (never thought I would describe “holding it” as “beautiful.”) No accidents in public, (knock on wood), we’re still always prepared just in case.

But. She has yet to poop on the potty. So, yes, we are still changing giant toddler poops. She only wears a diaper for naptime and bedtime, so if she really has to poop, she says, “I want to go to sleeeeeeep!” Just so she can get a stupid diaper on. Ugh!

So, why do I have one of the coolest looking stickers of all time on my shirt you ask?

Because I pooped on the potty and I got a freaking awesome sticker. I put it on my shirt so Miss Z would be reminded of it all day long every time she looked at me.IMG_0929.JPGEither this is going to work “beautifully” and I can celebrate with a tear-filled dance party, or I just shared with my lovely readers that I had a BM, for no reason.

What tips and tricks do you have for potty training? I would love to be able to train my son in under a year.IMG_0936.JPGThank you for stopping by! Please feel free to join the conversation and leave a comment. Also, if you’d like, you can follow Mama By Fire on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

26 thoughts on “A Sticker on My Shirt

  1. threeboysandamom says:

    Haha!! I literally laughed out loud. So adorable and hilarious!! Love the sticker and I hope it works! If not, keep celebrating your bm’s with stickers because hey, adults don’t get celebrated for the little things like they should…and you deserve it! Pooping is hard work sometimes! 😃

  2. Valerie says:

    I literally laughed out loud about your BM “for no reason” – that is hilarious!! What a fantastic idea to have you and your husband getting stickers too! I’ve never heard that one before.
    Sam will be three next week and he will go in the potty on the days when I encourage him to, but otherwise he doesn’t really care either way. haha I may have to get the older kids in on doing a sticker chart – I bet he would love that! 😀

    • mamabyfire says:

      Haha-thanks! Potty training has been the most frustrating parenting endeavor so far. This has got to work, right? I’m hoping we have it down once Ronan is ready. Good luck with Sam. 😃

  3. Rex says:

    This reminds me of our youngest. You, I mean she took forever to get potty trained. Didn’t know about the stickers then. I wonder if that would’ve worked with you, um …her? Love you, Dad

  4. Lifeblooming says:

    Haha! Fantastic! I’m now thinking of getting my own stickers and applying them liberally throughout the day for many awesome milestones. I tripped over your mess and didn’t yell – bam! Gold sticker.

    Loads of docs and psychs say until they’re ready, they’re not ready. That’s what I tell myself with my 3yo. My other kids took a while too. Thankfully it’s springtime now so we’ll be able to apply the sunshine, bare butt method.

    BTW – Rex’s comment is gorgeous!!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Haha-yeah, we should be getting more stickers! It’s so frustrating trying to potty train. Good luck with your little one! Hahaha!! Yes, he kind of threw me under the bus!

  5. Naomi says:

    I had to wait until my little one was mentally ready. I tricked her into using the potty a few times, and then she wouldn’t even sit on it. It took a lot of pee and poop panties for her to even realize what it felt like to go and need to go. She never noticed in diapers or pull-ups, so yes lovely cloth panties.

  6. Sue Parke says:

    I love the potty training sticker idea. My cousin did the chart and her daughter was potty trained in a week! On a family vacation this past summer I bribed my nephew with $1 haha! My daughter is only 7 months old, but I’m saving all these ideas for when it’s time to get her trained!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Haha! I wish cash would work on my daughter. She understands the concept, but when she is set on something, she doesn’t care how cool her prize is. Until everyone else is getting stickers, apparently. Good luck for when the time comes for your little one!

  7. melissajane01 says:

    I honestly never did anything special just encouraged them to go. My toddler is basically poop potty trained but still doesn’t care if he pees all over his underwear. Your ideas sound great! Love your sticker =)

  8. Melissande says:

    GOOD FOR YOU!!! HIGH FIVE!!! 😉 That’s seriously hilarious. I died, well almost, laughing. 🙂 I hope it works soon! My daughter was the same way. Poop took a while – she’s a bit stubborn. Your idea is brilliant though. I might have to use it on the next one.

  9. Christine says:

    I really talked up a “prize purse” for my little one. I started this at about 18 months when she started to show signs of being interested but didn’t push her to use the potty. I basically told her if you pee on the potty, you get a prize from the purse which we left in the bathroom (and it was mostly just hershey kisses). She would even tell her 9-month older cousin about it so I thought this is an awesome idea! Well she did it a couple of times, but nothing habit forming. Well just 2 weeks ago we went to Disney and she was still in her diaper but was telling us every time she had to go. We actually ignored her and just said good job and went along with changing her diaper until we got home (because who is going to potty train at Disney?!) That Monday after we got home we started using the potty and you know what? She didn’t care about the prize from the purse. She loved using the potty and just wanted hugs, kisses and high-fives. I think it was just the right TIME! She made the decision that she was done with “baby diapers” and we have been having success since. Don’t worry – like your doctor said, they are all different and they WILL eventually do it, just on their own time. GOOD LUCK!

    • mamabyfire says:

      That is so awesome! When my daughter first went on the potty, she was pretty excited at how big of a deal we made it. We’ll definitely be starting earlier with my son so we can really ease him into it. He’s already way different from his big sis!

  10. displacedyinzer says:

    What a great idea, stickers for all! We had a tough time training our son, and now our daughter is not interested in potty training. Going to try giving everyone rewards!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Potty training has been the most frustrating thing as parents for my husband and me. Finally found something that worked-make the kid feel left out. Lol! Now she’s doing awesome! Good luck with your daughter!!

Leave a Reply

