Embrace the Crazy

Leading up to the three day weekend, I was a bit stressed. We had something planned for each day.

Saturday we hosted our yearly Fantasy Football Live Draft Party.

When company is coming, there’s a bit of juggling involved when you have two small children, shopping, cleaning, and cooking to do.

We took it one step at a time. The whole family went shopping, because it’s necessary to get everyone out of the house. Β We don’t need any stir-crazy babies, (or worse, a stir-crazy mom or dad.)

Once we got home, my husband got to cleaning, and I got to cooking. The kiddos “helped” my husband which was nice so I was left to the food by myself.IMG_0845.JPGRight off the bat, while dicing an onion, I sliced my pinky. I cut until the blade was stopped by my nail. Luckily for me, I had my “mommy pants” on and I was able to stop the bleeding, bandage it up, and continue slicing. I barely skipped a beat. If this happened three years ago, I may have gone into shock.IMG_0849.JPGThe rest of the preparations went rather smoothly and we had a good time at the party. Β The kids even went to bed at their designated times-which was a very pleasant surprise.

We had a family picnic on Sunday. I brought freshly baked cookies which I managed to make while both kids were sleeping. And, as always, I overdid it on eating the dough. No regrets, it was delicious.

Then on Monday, we had a family birthday dinner. It was good food, and great to see the family.

But by the time we got home at 9, we were exhausted! And so was the baby! His normal bedtime is 6:30-unfortunately for us, he hasn’t been sleeping in his car seat lately so we had a cranky baby for the hour drive home. The toddler was awesome though, You Tube can be a savior.

I found out yesterday, (while we were rushing off to meet for dinner), that my husband had today off. I was thrilled! He would get a “rest day” this weekend after all.

Silly me. If you have kids, then you know as well as I do, that “rest” doesn’t fit into the day.

So today, after an exhausting morning, the whole family ended up in Miss Z’s room. My husband and I caught a moment to just sit and relax on her bed.

Both kids were non-stop; screaming,
singing, running, and dancing. And I finally realized, this is our life.

This insanity. The chaos. The Crazy.

It is time to embrace it and enjoy it, because we’re going to be here for awhile.

I think the first step is acceptance. Now we can adjust and settle in. And be happy about it. IMG_0878.JPGWhat did you do this holiday weekend?

18 thoughts on “Embrace the Crazy

  1. andthreetogo says:

    Although we didn’t celebrate labor day here in Thailand, we pretty much celebrate living here every chance we get by going to the beach. πŸ™‚
    Sounds like you need a holiday from the holiday though. Haha

  2. justamom8225 says:

    Embracing the crazy is part of what makes life interesting and enjoyable. Our Labor Day weekend was kind of tame compared to yours though. Got a car moved, moved a desk and my computer.

  3. Katie Reed says:

    Crazy is definitely a way of life for us. I have two young boys and another due next month, and trying to keep my wits about me is incredibly difficult! But I try and just laugh through it when I can. πŸ™‚ Great post.

  4. melissajane01 says:

    Ouch! That cut looks painful. Rest isn’t part of my life much anymore! However, I enjoy those moments when the kids are playing (nicely) and I get to sit down and chat with my husband, uninterrupted.

Leave a Reply

