Mama Stinks!

While hanging out with my kids this morning, I kept catching a whiff of something that smelled gross. It came and went as I searched my area. I checked the couch, the carpet, blankets, and of course I checked each kid.

After searching for a bit, I realized the odor was me!  Not the “I haven’t showered in several days” smell, (I got used to that smell long ago.) But a faint urine smell.

In our continuing efforts to potty train our oldest, she is consistently going pee on the potty. She insists on doing everything on her own. Pee, wipe, dump into the toilet, wash her hands.  Yes, she makes a mess on the toilet seat sometimes, but I  suppose she deserves to learn some independence, (coming from a recovering “helicopter mom.”)

Today, I came to the slow, horrifying realization that she hasn’t been wiping completely (horrifying because I was wearing what she missed this morning).

I’ve watched her plenty of times, so I know she’s capable. But maybe when she’s on her own she gets lazy?  Either way, we were taking selfies this morning, (like every mother and daughter in the a.m.), and when she got off of my lap, there was that smell. I didn’t make the connection right away, and so began the search.

It’s official. It’s me. And we are back to watching her every move during potty time.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to take a full body baby wipes “shower.”

The picture that started it all.

IMG_0693.JPGAnyone else out there experience anything similar? Please?! Tell me I’m not alone!

 

 

18 thoughts on “Mama Stinks!

  1. Travis Ross says:

    Hello:
    Ha. I haven’t had that happen yet, but we’ve got one of those running around our house right now. She is really good about peeing on the potty, but she still insists on “making smellies” in a pull-up. She is always very dramatic about pooping. There have been a couple of times where she poops and then she doesn’t come and get us, but rather takes her full pull-up off, tries to wipe herself up and then puts a new pull-up on. That’s a bloodbath that I’m pretty causes my wife to consider burning our house down and moving into a new one for the kids to terrorize.

    Nice post.

    Travis Ross

  2. Cristi G. says:

    I guess I’m pretty lucky that my two are boys, they just give themselves a shake and walk away! I have done the “uncomfortable smell search” though, I’m still searching as a matter of fact…

  3. melissajane01 says:

    Very amusing post! This morning, I detected a urine smell in my bathroom and realized someone had missed, and it went on the rug.

  4. Lauren says:

    Hahaha… I am always picking up ‘strange’ smells, and it usually ends up being me, thanks to the dog, or old food the kids wiped on my pants, or hidden poop, pee, or spit up! Ahhh… mommyhood is SO glam! 😉

Leave a Reply

