Easy Chicken Freezer Meals

On my quest for staying within an actual grocery budget, I have started to buy things in bulk.  With the non-perishables, it’s no big deal.  The perishables are a whole different story.

I have thrown away my fair share of rotten fruits or vegetables, and meat that has gone bad.  Maybe I should start throwing cash away too, because it’s pretty much the same thing.

Now when we shop for groceries, I try to have a (tentative) plan in place for everything.

I buy berries.  We enjoy fresh berries for a few days, then I either freeze them, or make freezer jam (so easy and amazing!!).

The other day, I bought a bunch of chicken.

IMG_0429.JPG

I decided to freeze all of it in really easy, minimal effort freezer meals.

Here they are, easiest to “hardest.”

First, I took two breasts and put them in a food saver bag, vacuum sealed them, then froze them.  Two breasts are perfect for my family for one meal, and a few leftovers.  Freezing them like this is awesome because when I decide to use them, I can do what ever I want.

Second, I cut one breast up and put it in a freezer bag.  I added teriyaki sauce and froze it.  Crazy easy.  When we have teriyaki, one breast is enough because we have a ton of veggies on the side, not to mention rice.  Side note-when you decide to use it, thaw it out and get rid of the excess sauce.  I didn’t do that the first time I made this and the sugar in the sauce burned.  Not a great flavor, and not a good smell-that happens to linger…  Besides, you can always add more sauce once everything is cooked.

Third, I added two breasts to my crockpot, some chicken broth and about half of a fajita seasoning packet.  You can use whatever seasoning you want, the end result (after about 6 hours of cooking), is perfectly shredded chicken.  Great for tacos, fajitas, enchilada’s…  I packed it into a freezer bag, labeled it, and stuck it in the freezer for a lazy cooking day.IMG_0430.JPG

IMG_0444.JPG

There you have it.  My three simplest chicken freezer meals.

What types of plans do you have when you buy in bulk?

8 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Freezer Meals

  1. andthreetogo says:

    Very easy! I used to get chicken breast in bulk from Costco and splitting the package to freeze in smaller servings is definitely the key. I have never prepared it and then froze it though. I was never that on the ball. I would love to start doing so if we travel somewhere with more bulk shopping though.

  2. Kelly says:

    I have an awesome chicken crock pot meal that I make all the time that is super easy and very inexpensive since it involves cooking a whole chicken (cheaper to buy that way than just breasts). Get a whole chicken, remove the innards (I throw those away because – blech), put in the crock pot breast side up. Take a yellow onion and cut into quarters – put that inside the chicken. Wash a lemon and zest it; cut it in half and squeeze the juice onto the chicken, sprinkle the zest on top. Put a couple of small dollops of butter on top of the chicken. Sprinkle pepper and thyme on top and put the lid on! Cook on high 5-6 hours, or low 8-10 hours. Lots of yummy chicken that can be eaten in tons of different ways and is super easy and cheap! Yum!

Leave a Reply

