Baked Potato Chips

If you’re anything like me, you’re always on the lookout for healthier snacks for your family. I also happen to be “working on” keeping a tight grocery budget, so it makes for some fun challenges regarding snack time.

Potatoes are cheap. I’m a sucker for cheap. Often I end up buying a 10 pound bag and use a few, then the rest go bad. That’s not saving money-in fact, it’s pretty much just throwing a few precious dollars away.

So, last week I bought a bag of Yukon Golds with a hard set determination to use the entire bag.

Last night, I had three left.IMG_0168.JPGI decided to give potato chips a try (again). Good old Pinterest to the rescue once more and I had success!

If you have a bit of time, and some extra potatoes lying around, you should give these a shot.

You will need:

A mandolin (not absolutely necessary, but near impossible without. Unless you’re a professional ninja slicer.)

Potatoes (I used Yukon’s, but I imagine Russets would be delicious as well.)

Big bowl of ice water

Olive Oil

Salt

1. Slice your potatoes to 1/8 inch thick.

2. Put slices in ice water as you go.IMG_0169.JPG3. Lay out a towel or paper towels and dry off all of the slices.

4. Toss in olive oil and salt.

5. Lay out in a single layer on a cookie sheet with parchment paper.IMG_0174.JPG6. Put in a 350 degree oven until they’re done. The original recipe said 25-30 minutes, but mine took longer. Maybe it was because of my oven, or maybe because I used Yukon’s and the recipe used Russets. Either way, check them every once in a while and flip them if you feel necessary.

IMG_0175.JPGThey were a hit! And just as addicting as “regular” potato chips…that’s supposed to be a ringing endorsement. Haha!!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Baked Potato Chips

  1. andthreetogo says:

    I don’t presently have an oven. They aren’t common here in Thailand, but I am saving this recipe for when we make it to our next place. Hopefully there I will have an oven and I can make these. Yum!

Leave a Reply

