You Tube May Be the Death of Me

Like many stay at home mom’s, I have a loosely set schedule at my house.

If things go my way, the baby is ready for a nap at 9am.  Z looks forward to his nap times too because she gets to play with my phone while I’m putting him down.  I like this arrangement because I know exactly where she is while I’m in the other room and I don’t have to worry about her catching anything on fire.

After the boy is asleep, I let her watch a bit longer so I can get some relax time in myself, (or if I’m feeling motivated, I can do the dishes from breakfast).

But the things she watches!!  Ugh!  I’m going to do a quick rundown of the shows my daughter watches on You Tube.

First up, Elmo and Barney.  Thankfully, they are both a thing of the past.  Sorry, every kid in America, but Elmo’s voice makes mama crazy.  As for Barney, (and the kids on his show), he cannot sing to save his life.  For a show that is mostly singing, it’s pretty rough to watch, (and nearly impossible to nap.  “Can you please turn that down a bit, honey?”)

Next is Peppa.  It’s actually a cute show and I can handle it still-so far.  But that adorable little piggy is a self involved snob!  Yikes!  I want my kids to think of others as well as themselves.  I’m pretty sure Z learns some of her entitlement over her baby brother from Peppa.  But it is hilarious when she wanders around the house speaking in a British accent.

Then there are the eggs.  Kinder Surprise eggs to be exact.  They are genius.  They incorporate everything a three year old loves.  Play-Doh, chocolate, Dora, Peppa, Frozen, any other toy that’s popular, AND the element of surprise.

If you are unfamiliar, these videos are literally an adult opening a play-doh or chocolate egg and showing the surprise inside.  She freaking loves these videos.  The toys are always lame, and the person opening it is always enthusiastically explaining every detail of the piece of crap plastic.

All of these have millions of views and hundreds of thousands of subscribers.  Are they real people subscribing?  Are they cyber ghosts?  Or are they kids that push the subscribe button when mama isn’t paying attention.  In my case, it’s the last one. I have been getting daily updates in my email for the newest Surprise Egg video for months now.

The videos that really, really get to me are the ones where adults are playing with toys.  It’s only one adult and they only show the toys and do the voices, (terribly).  The first time she found one of these, I stopped what I was doing so I could watch in horror the remainder of the show.  I don’t know what is more irritating to me, the fact that this person is making a living doing this squabble, or that I didn’t think of it first.

An honorable mention is the “Disney Collector.”  She reviews toys and for some reason, while she can be grating, she doesn’t make me nuts.  She does a lot of Play-Doh reviews and Z is a freak for Play-Doh. So my girl is happy.

I miss the good old days when she liked watching Katy Perry and One Republic music videos. Sure we listened to the same songs over and over AND over again, but that’s no different than listening to the radio.

As annoying as some of these shows are, I get a perfectly still toddler and I get to do her hair. She’s too engrossed in Peppa and learning how to get more attention than her brother to notice I’m struggling with braids.

Here is what we “accomplished” today.20140801-122251-44571447.jpg20140801-122250-44570664.jpgWhat You Tube videos do your kids watch?

10 thoughts on “You Tube May Be the Death of Me

  1. Leslie Kendall Dye says:

    youtube, a mixed blessing if there ever was one! My daughter loves peppa, and I used to until I noticed my child taking on some of Peppa’s less appealing character traits! I try to keep her interested in The Wiggles, as both groups (the old and new) are charming, musically terrific and offer HUGE variety of themes and stories. never a dull moment with the Wiggles, who give SO MUCH MORE credit to children than any other kids’ entertainers. (I personally would like to take Dora and Barney to a dark alley and dispose of them….:) )

    • mamabyfire says:

      Haha! I haven’t heard of The Wiggles-it sounds much better than her favorites! I’m lucky she doesn’t watch Dora-I’ve only seen it once and it wasn’t the best…

  2. Branson says:

    I can honestly say I have never had to deal with any of these as a parent (I do remember the barney days from working in a daycare though.) Luckily, my kiddo only watches shows I don’t mind (Kipper, Peep, Busytown…) and chooses to play on PBS kids over watching videos almost all the time. I do get tired of having to listen to the same game over and over sometimes, though!

Leave a Reply

