Learning By Fire

As a stay at home mom, “Mama by Fire” is how I feel most of the time. (I have two kiddos, my little girl is three, and my baby boy just turned one).

This could indicate a few things.

One being that I was unprepared to have kids. Nope. Both babies were planned.  My husband and I had the 7 years of alone time before we decided to have kids…

970909_10153143017885553_346338143_n

…then our world changed forever.  Everyone knows this.  Babies change lives, they change everything. I read all the books on while you’re pregnant, after baby comes, what to do with your toddler…still, not ready.

It could also maybe indicate I grew up without a mom because I wasn’t shown how to raise kids.

Also, wrong.  I have an awesome mom.

Brendan and Tarynn's pictures 186

She taught me a lot of valuable things.  How to be loving and caring, she taught an appreciation for music (10 years of piano lessons…)…the list of how awesome my mom is could go on and on…

She did not, however, teach me the SAHM basics: cooking, cleaning, and doing laundry.  Cooking I learned from my dad,  Nana, and Pinterest, cleaning I dabble in here and there, and I learned how to do laundry from my high school/college boyfriend.  Don’t ever ask me to do your laundry though, because I suck at it.

As I said, both babies were planned.  Our beautiful daughter was born in June 2011.

029

We were shocked to discover how difficult it actually is having a baby.  (Don’t be fooled by the cute picture, she was a monster…or, rather, an infant.  Same thing.)

005

Once she turned one, we saw how adorable and easy she became and we had almost only good days with this little being and decided it would be a good idea to have a second one.  I got pregnant when my daughter was 15 months old.

022

Do the math.  My son was born right after she turned two.  Yes, there is such a thing as the terrible twos and yes, my daughter has embraced this phase.  She is a dream child around most people, so lucky for us, her psychotic breaks only happen in the comfort of our own home.  With the comfort of our very own time out chair…or when she is being particularly snarky, our very own time out crib.

We are also very fortunate because my son is a  happy, chubby baby.  He smiles all the time and loves seeing new people.  His sister dotes on him and she is his whole world,

20140713-212215-76935333.jpg

except for my boobs of course…he spends a lot of time with those too.

I guess my whole point is nobody can ever prepare you to be a parent. You will get plenty of opinions from people.  This blog is just a chance for me to share the things I’ve learned along the way.  I have a lot of “Why didn’t anyone tell me that?!!!” moments with both kids, I thought I would step out of the box and be honest with the new parents out there.  You’re not alone.  It sucks for everybody.

16 thoughts on “Learning By Fire

  1. Sasha says:

    My two are quite similar to yours in age, and 18 months apart. It is definitely a wild and crazy ride but such a fun one at that!

  2. maggiemaysgifts says:

    I always have to remind myself that I’m “in the thick of it” with little ones and that it does get easier! If we don’t laugh, we’ll scream 🙂 your kids are adorable, by the way!

Leave a Reply

