Naps and Tantrums

When your little one has a really exciting day and no nap, you get one of two types of toddler (at least in my experience).

First, is “irrational tantrum toddler”. The only difference between this kid and a normal kid, is intensity. If you have a toddler, they’re going to be irrational and have tantrums all the time, but add over tired to the mix and it takes it to a whole new level.

Second, is “crazy happy toddler”. You know, the toddler that is overly happy and wants to do, (and touch), everything all at once, all while laughing uncontrollably.

This kid is much like a 21 year old on their twenty-one run, right before they have their one drink too many. They’re loud and obnoxious, and if you’re not feeling the same buzz, they are so very annoying.

Today, we went to the zoo. We timed everything perfectly. Got there when it opened. Ate a picnic lunch there. And best of all, we got home by one. Nap time!!

Little Miss was not having it. I’ll spare you the details on how she ended up pooping, then had to be changed, then put back down (including jumping into bed.) She just would not go to sleep!

Finally, we got her up because we had some errands to run. It wasn’t until we got to our fruit and veggie place, that we realized we had the second of the two types of no-nap-today-toddler.

She was running everywhere and jumped in every single puddle about fifty times, (and at fruit stands, there are a lot of puddles!). She was giggling hysterically and grabbing onto me or my husband, (whoever was closest).

When all was settled down, she serenaded us with a song about penises and “einginas” on the way home.

It was hard to keep from laughing. If she knew she was being funny, she would never, ever stop.

First it’s in front of mom and dad. Then it would be in front of the grandparents. Next thing we know, she would be singing loudly about genitalia at the grocery store. We will not be THOSE parents with THAT kid. So, once we composed ourselves, we distracted her.

After that, she wasΒ her psychotic, jolly self for (most of) the rest of the evening.

Unfortunately, for my husband and me, we know all too well what the “crazy happy toddler” turns into. An even more extreme, more terrifying version of “irrational tantrum toddler.”

So, if you happen to be curious where I’m at, I’m writing a blog post while a nutso toddler is screaming in the background. How are you?

20140707-193921-70761981.jpg

27 thoughts on “Naps and Tantrums

  1. Branson says:

    Oh yes… I have totally experienced this! I am pretty sure I will have my own overtired little one to deal with in about an hour here actually! πŸ˜‰

  2. maggiemaysgifts says:

    We are having the opposite problem with our 4 year old. If day care lets her nap, she will NOT go to bed for us at night! So we are ani-nap for her πŸ™‚ But yes my 2 year old is a cranky mess without his nap!

  3. Melissande says:

    I can relate to this on so many levels! So funny! One time my son shouted (while we were at a restaurant), “Mom! You have EGGS in your belly! I used to be an egg in your belly! Is one coming out right NOW!?” *face palm*

  4. Alana says:

    Whenever I have a day like this, I ALWAYS think of this post. Fortunately nap-free, or short-lived naps aren’t a frequent occurrence, but your post is such a nice reminder that someone else out there might be experiencing the same event as me at the same moment!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Thanks, Alana! I feel like our nap-free days come in waves, but I can’t complain too much, I get plenty of naptimes when BOTH are sleeping. And, yes, it is so nice to know I’m not alone! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

