It’s Just a Little White Lie…

I am a terrible liar. Some could argue it’s a great quality to have. Except when it comes to surprises, I have a hard time pulling it off.

I very rarely lie to my children, but when I do, it’s usually a doozy.

Santa Claus, The Easter Bunny, Leprechauns…

Yesterday, I introduced Miss Z to the Binky Fairy. Yes. She’s real.

Either that, or I have a three year old that still relies on a pacifier to fall asleep.

Our ultimate goal here is to get her potty trained. We feel that in order to do that, she needs to realize how awesome it is to be a “big girl”.

We started training when she was two.  We didn’t get anywhere other than getting her to sit on the potty. And when baby brother was born, she completely regressed.

She baby talks and cries when he cries. She has bruises up and down her legs from crawling all over the place like him.

We’ve tried different training methods throughout the year, including giving her breaks from it for weeks at a time-we didn’t want her to be too stressed!  God forbid we pressure her into something she doesn’t want to do!  (Side note-our pediatrician’s nurse said that there are more kids going into kindergarten that aren’t trained than there ever have been in the 20 years she’s been a nurse.  The reason?  Kids don’t want to potty train, and parents want to wait until their little precious is “ready”.)

We are done! We are done buying two different sizes of diapers every few weeks. And we are SO DONE cleaning up gigantic toddler poops.

Operation “Being a Big Girl is Awesome,” is in effect.

We started talking up the cool things she gets to do that baby brother can’t. She gets chocolate, ice cream, gets to play with the phone, she can walk and talk…

But, along with being a big girl, she no longer gets her binky.

IMG_2210

I wanted to take it away for naptimes at first and kind of ease her into sleeping without it.  I’m the mom.  The nurturer.  The nice one.  The pansy.

My husband said he thought it would be more effective if we took it cold turkey.  Ugh, Fine!  (It’s only annoying because I knew he was right.)

Yesterday was her first day without it.  For her nap, she cried for a little while.  But eventually fell asleep.

Before bed last night, she started asking questions.  I told her since she was a big girl now, the Binky fairy took it so she could give it to another baby to use.  She stared at me while I was talking and asked a few questions.  And surprisingly, she didn’t cry going to sleep.

Today, before her nap, she asked about it again.  I reminded her of the Binky Fairy and how she gave it to another baby.  She said, “No, I gave it to a baby.”

This kid is always surprising me.  She seemed unhappy that she didn’t have her paci anymore, but also seemed okay with it because someone else was enjoying it.

Yes.  I lied.  I will probably do it again if the situation calls for it.

I’m not saying I’m proud of it.  But ask me in a few days how its going.  And if she no longer even mentions the binky, I will happily tell people how we did it.

Next stop for my big girl is peeing on the potty.  (Fingers crossed!!)

20140701-144931-53371567.jpg

18 thoughts on “It’s Just a Little White Lie…

  1. Nikki says:

    Good luck to you and your little one. I myself has done this at one time or another. Not proud of it but hey if it helps them learn something, why not! LOL!!

  2. Alana says:

    We aren’t on to the soother yet (we call pacifiers “soothers” in Canada), but I thoroughly appreciated this post. PLEASE update on potty training!!!

    • mamabyfire says:

      I definitely will do an update! She pees on the potty regularly-but that’s it for now. I will do a happy dance and quite a detailed post once she’s completely out of diapers. Haha!

    • mamabyfire says:

      Thank you! Both of my kids are into the pacifiers-neither even attempt to use fingers (or thumbs.) I just hope the “Binky Fairy” works with my son if needed…

Leave a Reply

