Yeah, She’ll Wear a Leash. I Mean a Harness!

Doesn’t matter what you call it. A “leash,” a “harness”. You’re still restricting your child. Keeping them close. Keeping them from running in front of a car.  Preventing them from getting snatched.

So, yep, I will absolutely make her wear that monkey backpack or lion backpack or whatever backpack she picks out.

Because she is old enough to understand me when I say, “stay close,” “don’t go in the street,” “keep away from the cars.” And she is also just snarky enough to know that she wants to do the opposite of what I say.

Contrary to how I feel some days, I’m not actually Superwoman, I’m human. So I can only carry one child at a time.  Baby in one arm, the toddler holding hands.

We were at the grocery store a few weeks ago.

I unloaded the groceries and went to return the cart. Got her out (because I wouldn’t have been able to if I was holding him). Asked her to hang onto my jacket while I lifted him out-she always listened before.  This time was different.

She took off.  Fast.  In the parking lot.

I left my baby in the cart and ran after her.

I feel very lucky. She didn’t get far and there were only parked cars around.  (The baby and the cart were in the cart return, so I knew he wouldn’t go anywhere-stop worrying.)

I was horrified.  I tried to explain to her why that was a bad idea.  I tried to calm myself down with breathing exercises.  I tried to keep my composure in front of the random onlookers.  But once we were loaded in the car, I broke down.  I still shudder thinking about what could have been.  That moment stuck with me for several days.  I had to wait a few weeks to even write this post!

So yes, I will invest in one if those fancy backpacks.  And I will happily deal with the glares and the comments I may get.  Because I will not go through that again.

How do you feel about the harnesses? Would you, or wouldn’t you?

Leave a Reply

