Black Bean Patties

The other day I had another “opportunity” to get creative with the food I had in my kitchen.

This time, it was because I didn’t have the time (or energy) to go to the store for anything. (The last time I had to do something like this, it was because of our butchered grocery budget)
I found:
A can of black beans
A yam
Lettuce
Carrots
Eggs
Avocado
About 1 1/2 cups of leftover Brown rice
And I always have various spices and sauces.

I had been wanting to make black bean patties some time anyway, so why not now?

First, I peeled and chopped up the yam. Then put it in boiling water until it was fork-tender (about 15 minutes).

20140609-202953-73793235.jpg
While the yams were cooking, I put the black beans, one egg, and rice in my food processor. I added one teaspoon of minced garlic and a teaspoon or so of garlic salt. I blended briefly to mix everything.

20140609-203340-74020793.jpg
Once the yams were done, I drained them and cooled them off with cold water. I then added them to my food processor and blended everything together.

Shape into patties and cook on both sides with a little bit of olive oil in a frying pan. Just until heated through. (Be careful flipping them, they don’t stay together very well.)

20140609-203630-74190170.jpg
I served them next to a salad with sliced carrots and topped the patties with sliced avocado.

20140609-203726-74246836.jpg
It was delicious!! We had some leftovers so I wrapped the patties individually and froze them. This meal was really tasty and surprisingly filling!

**Next time:
I will definitely be making these again (probably very soon!), but there are a few changes I would make.

1. I will blend the yams first before anything, until they’re the consistency of mashed potatoes.

2. I will add the beans, egg, and seasonings and pulse a few times.

3. I will remove the blade and mix the rice in by hand.

I think with these changes, the texture will have a better “feel” to it.

I’m also looking forward to experimenting with different spices. This is a pretty basic recipe and can be dressed up quite a bit.

Have you had to get creative in the kitchen lately? What did you come up with?

Leave a Reply

