Play Dates-For Baby or for Mama?

It’s good to get your kids around other kids. Learn to socialize and teach them how to share.

Playdates For baby or for mama

I love play dates at my house because the boring old toys my kids are used to, are now being played with by another kid. This astonishingly renews the value of said toys.

A play date for us at someone else’s house is awesome too because of the new toys. The kiddos usually acknowledge each other eagerly at first, but then wander off on their own to discover these amazing new contraptions.

But, when it comes down to it, the play date is actually for mama.

If it’s at our house, I clean before company arrives. And even though the kids end up making a mess, the house is still cleaner than it would have been if they weren’t coming.

It’s something to look forward to, something to “break up the day,” if you will.

If you’re a SAHM, the days can drag. And if you have a child coming over to hang out with your little one so you don’t have to for an hour, it’s difficult to contain your excitement.

Lastly, and most importantly, play dates are for mama so she can have some adult conversation.

Thinking about the possibility of this last part makes me feel giddy. Being around two children under three makes you feel crazy sometimes.

We just need someone we can relate to. Someone who knows exactly what we’re going through. Someone to swap easy recipes with. And let’s be honest, someone we can bitch to.

So, at the risk of sounding too eager, wanna have a play date?

15 thoughts on “Play Dates-For Baby or for Mama?

  1. workingmommagic says:

    I love play dates, since that is usually the times I get to see my friends! Most of us have kids around the same age, so it makes it easy for us to have some ‘mommy’ time! πŸ™‚

  2. ashleylecompte says:

    How I totally wish that we could! Haha! I know exactly what you mean about play-dates. I have a moms group that I go to every Monday and it’s wonderful. Sometimes, it’s a lot of work because the kiddos can’t seem to get settled and get used to one another. But most of the time, it’s wonderful and it does break up the day and the loneliness that sometimes accompanies motherhood!

    • mamabyfire says:

      I need to find a moms group! I know what you mean about the kids getting settled. My daughter didn’t start interacting during her play dates until she was two-but she always liked that her friends were over, she just didn’t want to talk.

Leave a Reply

